Ascari and Ferrari Squads Split British GT Qualifying Honours

by James Broomhead

Reigning champions David and Godfrey Jones and the Rosso Verde Ferrari will start on pole for the first and second races of the British GT Championship to be held at Oulton Park on Monday.

It was David Jones who took the wheel of the Team Pyro prepared Preci-Spark Ascari KZR1 as the series held two separate qualifying sessions for the pair of races, dominating the field, lapping the Cheshire venue in 1:39.212, to put the car over six-tenths clear of Duncan Cameron in the MTECH Ferrari 430 Scuderia.

The pair of Audi R8 LMS machines entered by Anglo-American team United Autosports annexed the second row ahead of the surprising Trackspeed Porsche 911 GT3R driven by David Asburn.

The second session, which saw the team's second driver, who will also start the race, behind the wheel. Cameron's driving partner Matt Griffin put the car second on the grid again, this time behind the Rosso Verde car of Hector Lester and Allan Simonsen, the Dane taking the no.3 car round in 1:36.934. Adam Wilcox in the Predator CCTV Ferrari made it a 1-2-3 sweep for the 430 Scuderias.

Godfrey Jones was fourth fastest, followed by Richard Dean in the no.23 Audi and former BTCC driver Michael Bentwood driving an Aston Martin DBRS9 for the combined Barwell/Cadena squad.

In the G4 class honours were split between the familiar and the new – the Ginetta G50 of Speedworks taking pole for race one, with the Piranha Lotus 2-Eleven of Chris Bialan a distant second some 1.4 seconds slower. Pole for race two was taken Rory Butcher in the KTM X-Bow entered by ABG Motorsport, the Speedworks this time relegated to second fastest.

The session also saw the first accidents of the 2010 season, the first qualifying session seeing Craig Wilkins suffer a “colossal” accident at Old Hall – the tracks first corner – in his Dodge Viper, a car which is now a doubt to take to the grid for Monday's races.

Photo Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More