Touring Cars

Scirocco R-Cup Returns For 2011

1 Mins read

The organisers of the Volkswagen Scirocco R-Cup have announced their 2011 calendar as the series returns for a second season. The championship enjoyed a successful inaugural year supporting the German DTM Championship, in front of average crowds of 86,000 fans.

The R-Cup will support the DTM once again, at eight out of its ten events. Its season opener and finale will once again take place at Hockenheim, while there is one new addition to the calendar, a round at the Red-Bull-Ring at Spielberg, Austria. There will be rounds across Germany, at the EuroSpeedway, Norisring, Nürburgring and Oschersleben, while the series will return to the UK at Brands Hatch in early September.

The grid will include a mix of young and experienced, male and female racers from all across the world, with motorsport legends and celebrities once again joining in the action as guest entrants. They will compete in identical eco-friendly Scirocco coupés running on bio natural gas, which once again include the push-to-pass system, giving drivers a limited number of 50 PS power boosts to create exciting racing.

The 2011 Scirocco R-Cup Calendar

29 – 30 April Hockenheim (D)
3 – 5 June Spielberg (A)*
17 – 18 June EuroSpeedway (D)
1 – 2 July Norisring (D)
5 – 6 August Nürburgring (D)
2- 4 September Brands Hatch (GB)
16 – 18 September Oschersleben (D)*
21 – 22 October Hockenheim (D)

*two rounds per race weekend

Related posts
DTMTouring Cars

BMW face logistical challenges for the 2020 DTM season

3 Mins read
A condensed season for DTM leaves the teams with a logistical nightmare. BMW Team RMG Team Principal Stefan Reinhold reveals how they are planning on coping with the situation.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.
BTCCInterviewsTouring Cars

Rickard Rydell on his career and all things BTCC

9 Mins read
Rickard Rydell became a household name in the 1990s thanks to his exploits in the British Touring Car Championship, the pinnacle of which was clinching the title in 1998 at the wheel of his Volvo S40

Leave a Reply