GP3 SeriesOpen Wheel

Evans Converts Pole To Maiden GP3 Victory

1 Mins read

Mitch Evans produced a fine performance to claim his maiden victory in the GP3 Series at Barcelona. The 16-year-old New Zealander's win was also the first in the category for his MW Arden team.

Starting from pole, Evans held onto first place, with fellow front-row starter Andrea Caldarelli having to defend his position from Tech 1 teammate Aaro Vainio. James Calado took advantage of the pair's battle to move into second place, with Vainio also getting past Caldarelli.

Evans' lead remained a comfortable one for the whole of the race, crossing the finish line 1.885 seconds ahead of Calado. Caldarelli attempted to take third place back from Vainio but was not able to do so and had to settle for fourth behind the Finn.

Nico Muller finished just behind the pair in fifth, having passed Nigel Melker at the start of the race. Melker came across the line in sixth, with Dean Smith and Tamas Pal Kiss rounding out the top eighth. The Hungarian made it all three Tech 1 cars in the top eight and claimed pole position for Race 2 as well.

Race result after 16 laps:

  Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Mitch Evans MW Arden 27:19.175 
2 James Calado Lotus ART 1.885
3 Aaro Vainio Tech 1 Racing 7.224
4 Andrea Caldarelli Tech 1 Racing 7.432
5 Nico Muller Jenzer Motorsport 7.751
6 Nigel Melker RSC Mucke Motorsport 8.574
7 Dean Smith Addax Team 8.790
8 Tamas Pal Kiss Tech 1 Racing 10.328
9 Vittorio Ghirelli Jenzer Motorsport 11.930
10 Valtteri Bottas Lotus ART 13.495
11 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Marussia Manor Racing 15.294
12 Antonio Felix Da Costa Status Grand Prix 20.311
13 Gabriel Chaves Addax Team 20.611
14 Lewis Williamson MW Arden 21.230
15 Pedro Nunes Lotus ART 24.071
16 Zoel Amberg Atech CRS GP 26.521
17 Ivan Lukashevich Status Grand Prix 24.071
18 Michael Christensen RSC Mucke Motorsport 27.770
19 Matias Laine Marussia Manor Racing 32.782
20 Rio Haryanto Marussia Manor Racing 33.320
21 Conor Daly Carlin 36.714
22 Luciano Bacheta RSC Mucke Motorsport 37.458
23 Leonardo Cordeiro Carlin 44.098
24 Daniel Morad Carlin 44.886
25 Nick Yelloly Atech CRS GP 49.737
26 Marlon Stockinger Atech CRS GP 51.623
27 Simon Trummer MW Arden +1 lap
28  Dominic Storey Addax Team 9 laps
29 Alexander Sims Status Grand Prix 3 laps
30 Maxim Zimin Jenzer Motorsport 0 laps
1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
Formula 2Open Wheel

Schumacher and Zhou score wins at the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 championship

4 Mins read
Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou took home a win a piece in the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Pagenaud: "It was a tough, dramatic weekend, but we prevailed"

3 Mins read
After the intimidating task of starting last in both Iowa IndyCar 250s, Simon Pagenaud and his team finished brilliantly with a win and a fourth place finish.
Formula 1Open Wheel

Sauber Motorsport Unveil New Academy Program

1 Mins read
Sauber Motorsport AG have announced a new academy program as well as it’s first four inductees, including the son of a two-time Formula 1 world champion.

Leave a Reply