GP2 SeriesOpen Wheel

Leimer Claims Dominant Bareclona Sprint Race Win

2 Mins read

Fabio Leimer scored a dominant victory in the GP2 sprint race at Barcelona. In doing so the Swiss driver repeated his sprint race win at the circuit from last year, just as Charles Pic managed in the feature race.

Rapax driver Leimer started from pole position, having fought his way through from the back of the grid in the feature race. As he made a good getaway to lead into Turn 1, second place starter Jules Bianchi made a poor start and in an attempt to defend his position under breaking the French ART driver turned in on Giedo van der Garde and into the wall, taking the Dutch Addax driver with him and bringing out the safety car.

After the restart Leimer began to pull away from second place Dani Clos, winning the race with a margin of ten seconds over the Racing Engineering driver. Marcus Ericsson finished a further ten seconds back in third for iSport.

Ericsson's teammate Sam Bird ran fourth for much of the race but eventually succumbed to pressure from AirAsia man Davide Valsecchi. He set off after Ericsson but ran out of time to take third place.

Stefano Coletti had to defend hard from Josef Kral in the closing stages to keep hold of sixth and the final point. Kral made his move around the outside of the Trident driver at Turn 1 on the penultimate lap but the pair made contact putting both out of the race. This promoted Fairuz Fauzy into sixth place, who finished just ahead of Alvaro Parente and Pal Varhaug. Romain Grosjean made his way up from the back of the grid after his Race 1 exclusion, and tried to take eighth from DAMS teammate Varhaug on the last lap, but the rookie Norwegian kept the Frenchman behind.

Van der Garde and Bird share the standings lead after the second race weekend. Charles Pic, who finished last in the sprint race having been given a black and orange flag, is six points behind in third, with Grosjean two further points back after his point-less weekend. The next round takes place in Monaco next weekend.

Race result after 26 laps:

  Driver Team Time/Gap
1. Fabio Leimer Rapax 45:26.885
2. Dani Clos Racing Engineering 10.190
3. Marcus Ericsson iSport International 20.711
4. Davide Valsecchi Team AirAsia 20.926
5. Sam Bird iSport International 27.339
6. Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova Racing 38.974
7. Alvaro Parente Racing Engineering 40.280
8. Pal Varhaug Dams 41.855
9. Romain Grosjean Dams 41.925
10. Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident Racing 51.503
11. Max Chilton Carlin 52.553
12. Esteban Gutierrez Lotus ART 62.219
13. Johnny Cecotto Ocean Racing Technology 63.298
14. Julian Leal Rapax 63.416
15. Kevin Ceccon Scuderia Coloni 63.604
16. Kevin Mirocha Ocean Racing Technology 64.895
17. Jolyon Palmer Arden International 65.099
18. Mikhail Aleshin Carlin 79.938
19. Charles Pic Barwa Addax Team 86.905
20. Stefano Coletti Trident Racing 24 laps
21. Josef Kral Arden International 24 laps
Ret. Luiz Razia Team AirAsia 22 laps
Ret. Luca Filippi Super Nova Racing 21 laps
Ret. Michael Herck Scuderia Coloni 12 laps
Ret. Jules Bianchi Lotus ART 0 laps
Ret. Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax Team 0 laps
Related posts
Formula 2Open Wheel

Schumacher and Zhou score wins at the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 championship

4 Mins read
Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou took home a win a piece in the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Pagenaud: "It was a tough, dramatic weekend, but we prevailed"

3 Mins read
After the intimidating task of starting last in both Iowa IndyCar 250s, Simon Pagenaud and his team finished brilliantly with a win and a fourth place finish.
Formula 1Open Wheel

Sauber Motorsport Unveil New Academy Program

1 Mins read
Sauber Motorsport AG have announced a new academy program as well as it’s first four inductees, including the son of a two-time Formula 1 world champion.

Leave a Reply