DTMTouring Cars

Rockenfeller Takes Maiden DTM Win At Zandvoort

2 Mins read

Mike Rockenfeller scored his maiden DTM victory in the second race of the season at Circuit Park Zandvoort in the Netherlands.

In only his second race for the crack Abt Audi squad, the German moved up from third on the grid to second past the slow-starting Mercedes of Jamie Green. Rockenfeller then took the lead of the race from Bruno Spengler at the first round of pitstops. He produced an error-free performance to beat Spengler by 1.4 seconds at the checkered flag.

“I am relieved,” said Rockenfeller. “Hockenheim was very frustrating after a good qualifying and the poor race. Fortunately, we have found the problem and solved it. The result was a good qualifying and a great race. Today, the foundation was the start, plus two excellent stops and a good pace.”

Spengler finished second, with Martin Tomczyk finding his way past Green to finish third in his older-spec Phoenix-run Audi.

Spengler was disappointed not to convert his pole position into a race win. “Unfortunately, we have given victory away,” said the Canadian. “Up to the first stop, the pace was good and I was able to pull clear from Mike. After the stop, however, Mike was ahead of me and wasn't able to follow him anymore. Nevertheless, it isn't a bad day. Finishing second at Zandvoort is something I haven't achieved so far.”

Green slipped to fourth, with Timo Scheider fifth for Audi. Rookie Edoardo Mortara finished sixth in his Rosberg Audi, just ahead of Maro Engel (Mucke Mercedes). Mattias Ekstrom scored the final point in eighth having made his way up from 16th on the grid.

Spengler's runner-up spot added to his victory at the season opener in Hockenheim gives him a lead of eight points over Rockenfeller and Tomczyk in the drivers' standings. The next round of the season takes place at the revamped Red Bull Ring in Spielberg, Austria on 5th June.

Final results after 41 laps:

Pos. Driver / Entrant Team/Car Time/Gap 
1. Mike Rockenfeller Abt Audi 1:05:28.514 
2. Bruno Spengler HWA Mercedes 01.423 
3. Martin Tomczyk Phoenix Audi 01.865 
4. Jamie Green HWA Mercedes 06.957 
5. Timo Scheider Abt Audi 11.478 
6. Edoardo Mortara Rosberg Audi 14.160 
7. Maro Engel Mucke Mercedes 15.064 
8. Mattias Ekström Abt Audi 15.439 
9. Gary Paffett HWA Mercedes 19.482 
10. Oliver Jarvis Abt Audi 21.859 
11. Ralf Schumacher HWA Mercedes 28.435 
12. Susie Stoddart Persson Mercedes 28.855 
13. Renger van der Zande Persson Mercedes 35.870 
14. Miguel Molina Abt Audi 37.268 
15. Christian Vietoris Persson Mercedes 38.901 
16. David Coulthard Mucke Mercedes 49.548 
17. Rahel Frey Phoenix Audi + 1 lap 
Ret. Filipe Albuquerque Rosberg Audi 13 laps 
Related posts
DTMFormula 1

Simulator Role More Important than DTM Ride for Albon in Bid to Return to Formula 1

2 Mins read
Alexander Albon feels what he does in the simulator with Red Bull will be more important than what he does in DTM if he wants to be back in Formula 1 next season.

Getting Ready For Some DTM Action

3 Mins read
Official pre-season testing for the 2021 DTM season gets underway with excitement building for drivers, team principals and fans alike.
DTMFormula 1Formula 3

Red Bull Place Alexander Albon and Liam Lawson in the DTM Series in 2021

1 Mins read
Red Bull-backed Alexander Albon (in select races that do not clash with his F1 reserve driver role) and Liam Lawson will race in the DTM Series in 2021.

Leave a Reply