GP3 SeriesOpen Wheel

Sims Takes Comfortable Race 2 Win In Istanbul

1 Mins read

Alexander Sims won the second GP3 Series race at Istanbul Park in comfortable style, leading from pole position until the checkered flag.

The British Status GP driver made a good start and built up a comfortable lead over the course of the race, winning by seven seconds.

His teammate Antonio Felix da Costa moved up from fourth to second at the start, getting past both Mitch Evans (Arden) and Michael Christensen (Mucke). Race 1 winner Nigel Melker was on a bit of a mission, taking Tom Dillmann at the start and then later getting by both Tech 1's Andrea Caldarelli and Valtteri Bottas of ART and into fifth position.

Bottas lost three places in quick succession, with Caldarelli and Dean Smith (Addax) also getting by the Finn. Melker moved past Evans into fourth, before da Costa ran wide and allowed the Mucke pairing of Christensen and Melker to go through and complete the podium behind Sims.

Da Costa held on to fourth under pressure from Caldarelli, while Smith finished sixth after getting by Evans. Bottas crossed the line in eighth, with Dillmann ninth and Rio Haryanto tenth.

Melker's double podium makes him the early championship leader, three points ahead of Caldarelli. The second round takes place at the Circuit de Catalunya in Barcelona, Spain, in two weeks' time.

Race 2 results after 15 laps:

Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Alexander Sims Status Grand Prix 27:03.624 
2 Michael Christensen RSC Mucke Motorsport 7.406
3 Nigel Melker RSC Mucke Motorsport 13.983
4 Antonio Felix da Costa Status Grand Prix 17.667
5 Andrea Caldarelli Tech 1 Racing 17.876
6 Dean Smith Addax Team 18.760
7 Mitch Evans MW Arden 18.948
8 Valtteri Bottas Lotus ART 22.792
9 Tom Dillmann Carlin 22.951
10 Rio Haryanto Marussia Manor Racing 27.212
11 Nick Yelloly Atech CRS GP 31.637
12 Gabriel Chaves Addax Team 32.829
13 James Calado Lotus ART 34.111
14 Zoel Amberg Atech CRS GP 35.985
15 Nico Muller Jenzer Motorsport 36.315
16 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Marussia Manor Racing 36.883
17 Maxim Zimin Jenzer Motorsport 37.400
18 Tamas Pal Kiss Tech 1 Racing 37.804
19 Luciano Bacheta RSC Mucke Motorsport 38.419
20 Lewis Williamson MW Arden 38.692
21 Simon Trummer MW Arden 39.477
22 Leonardo Cordeiro Carlin 40.348
23 Marlon Stockinger Atech CRS GP 47.122
24 Ivan Lukashevich Status Grand Prix 55.843
25 Conor Daly Carlin 57.717
26 Pedro Nunes Lotus ART + 1 lap
Ret  Vittorio Ghirelli Jenzer Motorsport 7 laps
Ret Aaro Vainio  Tech 1 Racing 0 laps
Ret  Matias Laine Marussia Manor Racing 0 laps
Ret  Dominic Storey Addax Team 0 laps
Related posts
Formula 2Open Wheel

Schumacher and Zhou score wins at the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 championship

4 Mins read
Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou took home a win a piece in the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Pagenaud: "It was a tough, dramatic weekend, but we prevailed"

3 Mins read
After the intimidating task of starting last in both Iowa IndyCar 250s, Simon Pagenaud and his team finished brilliantly with a win and a fourth place finish.
Formula 1Open Wheel

Sauber Motorsport Unveil New Academy Program

1 Mins read
Sauber Motorsport AG have announced a new academy program as well as it’s first four inductees, including the son of a two-time Formula 1 world champion.

Leave a Reply