DTMTouring Cars

Spengler Wins Round 1 From Pole At Hockenheim

2 Mins read

Bruno Spengler won the opening race of the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters season in commanding fashion at Hockenheim.

Although the Mercedes driver was beaten into the first corner by the Audi of Mattias Ekstrom, the Canadian regained the lead on the exit, as everybody ran onto the runoff area on the outside of the corner. From there he held on to the lead for the rest of the race to score his eighth career win.

Ekstrom made it home in second, despite slowing down with a problem through the final couple of corners on the last lap. Ralf Schumacher finished just behind him in third, scoring his maiden DTM podium finish, with Timo Scheider finishing in fourth.

Martin Tomczyk finished fifth, but only after causing a safety car after his second pitstop. He left the pits with his fuel can still attached to his car, but it soon detached itself onto the track.

After the restart Gary Paffett took seventh position from Miguel Molina. The Briton had started at the back of the grid, but made his way up into eighth after the first round of stops. He remained stuck behind the Spaniard until the restart when he ran wide. Molina would then get spun around by fellow Audi driver Oliver Jarvis.

Paffett ended the race in sixth place after getting past Maro Engel, with fellow Brit Jamie Green also finding a way through past the German for seventh. Engel finished eighth, ahead of Jarvis and David Coulthard, who escaped a collision with Renger van der Zande that led the Dutch debutant into retirement.

“I am very happy and I am looking forward to celebrating together with my team today,” said Spengler. “The start of the season is already very good, but there are still many races to come and one has to remain realistic.”

Race results after 38 laps:

Pos. Driver / Entrant Team Car Time/Gap 
1. Bruno Spengler HWA Mercedes C-Klasse 1:03:07.244 
2. Mattias Ekström Abt Audi A4 DTM +3.696 
3. Ralf Schumacher HWA Mercedes C-Klasse +3.883 
4. Timo Scheider Abt Audi A4 DTM +4.585 
5. Martin Tomczyk Phoenix Audi A4 DTM +5.256 
6. Gary Paffett HWA Mercedes C-Klasse +6.591 
7. Jamie Green HWA Mercedes C-Klasse +10.653 
8. Maro Engel Mucke Mercedes C-Klasse +11.938 
9. Oliver Jarvis Abt Audi A4 DTM +13.803 
10. David Coulthard Mucke Mercedes C-Klasse +14.246 
11. Mike Rockenfeller Abt Audi A4 DTM +16.164 
12. Susie Stoddart Persson Mercedes C-Klasse +16.488 
13. Christian Vietoris Persson Mercedes C-Klasse +17.310 
14. Edoardo Mortara Rosberg Audi A4 DTM +18.341 
15. Rahel Frey Phoenix Audi A4 DTM +25.944 
16. Miguel Molina Abt Audi A4 DTM +28.420 
17. Filipe Albuquerque Rosberg Audi A4 DTM +29.011 
18. Renger van der Zande Persson Mercedes C-Klasse +8 laps
Related posts
DTMFormula 1

Simulator Role More Important than DTM Ride for Albon in Bid to Return to Formula 1

2 Mins read
Alexander Albon feels what he does in the simulator with Red Bull will be more important than what he does in DTM if he wants to be back in Formula 1 next season.

Getting Ready For Some DTM Action

3 Mins read
Official pre-season testing for the 2021 DTM season gets underway with excitement building for drivers, team principals and fans alike.
DTMFormula 1Formula 3

Red Bull Place Alexander Albon and Liam Lawson in the DTM Series in 2021

1 Mins read
Red Bull-backed Alexander Albon (in select races that do not clash with his F1 reserve driver role) and Liam Lawson will race in the DTM Series in 2021.

Leave a Reply