Ginetta JuniorGinetta SeriesSportscars

Win Number Five For Seb Morris

1 Mins read

Seb Morris got back to winning ways in the Ginetta Junior Championship with victory in Round Six at Thruxton. The 15 year old battled hard with George Gamble throughout the race, just like in the weekend's first race, but this time held on to take his fifth win of the season for Hillspeed.

TJ Motorsport's Gamble started the race from pole position and a good start saw him lead the first lap, ahead of Morris, Max Coates, Brad Bailey and a slow starting Struan Moore, dropping from third to fifth at the start.

Behind, suffering a problem on the opening lap was reigning Ginetta Junior Ireland champion Niall Murray, the Irishman forced to pit after suffering loss of drive in his Beacon Racing G40, a problem seemingly caused by his hefty accident in the first race.

Dropping a couple of places on the opening lap was Gamble's team-mate Sennan Fielding, the reigning Ginetta Scholarship winner losing out to HHC pairing Mikey Day and Charlie Robertson, before then falling behind Jake Giddings and Tom Howard  a lap later. He did fight his way back past the latter two a couple of laps later though, passing Howard at Allard and Giddings at Club on lap four.

Ahead, Gamble began to come under pressure from Morris for the first time in the race and lost his lead on lap six, with Morris getting by at the Complex. His team-mate Moore however was having no such luck, running wide at Church on the same lap, with Robertson also following him off the circuit.

The front two continued to run nose to tail over the final two laps and with Gamble unable to produce a last ditch move like he did in Round Five, Morris held on to take the win, with 14 year old Gamble second and Coates a solid third, his second podium of the weekend and the season. Bailey took a well-deserved fourth ahead of Tollbar's Howard, Day, Fielding and William Foster. Declan Jones and a recovering Robertson rounded out the top ten, ahead of Westbourne Motorsport's Myles Collins and Eric Morris.

Related posts
ADAC GT MastersFormula 1GT World ChallengeIntercontinental GT ChallengeSportscars

Mercedes AMG to work more closely with Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula 1 Team

3 Mins read
Mercedes AMG have announced a re-structuring, which involves the sportscar department and the Formula 1 department working more closely together, as well as integrating the E-sports team into factory life.
Nurburgring 24 HoursNürburgring Endurance SeriesSportscars

Sabine Schmitz: 1969 - 2021

1 Mins read
The racing world is mourning the loss of a legend today after the news that Sabine Schmitz has lost her long battle with cancer.
British GTGT World ChallengeSportscars

SRO Motorsports Group Launch Road to Carbon Neutrality

1 Mins read
SRO Motorsports Group, organisers of #GTWorldChEU and #BritishGT, have announced a roadmap to carbon neutrality by 2023.

Leave a Reply