2011 24 Hours of Le Mans: Hour Seven Update

The no.2 Audi R18 of Andre Lotterer, Marcel Fassler and Benoit Treluyer continues to lead at the end of the seventh hour of the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

The no.7 Peugeot continues to run in second, with the recovering no.1 car now in third. With Mike Rockenfeller in the car Audi took third in the pits when both he and the no.9 Peugeot pitted together. The pair entered pitlane nose-to-tail and both completed their stops, only taking on board another stint's worth of diesel.

Strakka Racing had their LMP2 challenge hindered slightly by a one second penalty for overtaking too soon when the race re-started after Allan McNish's opening hour shunt. The class continues to be lead by the Team ORECA Matmut ORECA 03, now up to tenth overall.

There was more misfortune for GTEPro runners. In what continues to be a problematic Le Mans for Porsche's top teams Abdulaziz Al Faisal put the no.88 Felbermayr-Proton in the gravel, slipping down the order while it was recovered and pointed back on the right direction.

The no.56 BMW had its own problems, pushed back into the garage with mechanics climbing over the engine in the M3. The car was soon back in the race, but having challenged the dominance of the Corvette Racing entry that continues to lead earlier in the race it fell back into the lower half of the top ten in class.

The CRS Racing GTEAm Ferrari was another to trouble – and barrier, Roger Wills backing the F430 into the barriers causing sizable damage to the cars.

2011 24 Hours of Le Mans standings after seven hours:

No.2 – Audi Sport Team Joest – Fassler/Lotterer/Treluyer
No.7 – Peugeot Sport Total – Davidson/Gene/Wurz
No.1 – Audi Sport Team Joest – Bernhard/Dumas/Rockenfeller

No.48 – Team ORECA Matmut – Hallyday/Kraihamer/Premat
No.41 – Greaves Motorsport – Ojjeh/Kimber-Smith/Lombard
No.39 – Pecom Racing – Perez Companc/Russo/Kaffer

No.74 – Corvette Racing – Gavin/Magnussen/Westbrook
No.59 – Luxury Racing – Makoweicki/Melo/Ortelli
No.73 – Corvette Racing – Beretta/Garcia/Milner

No.70 – Larbre Competion – Belloc/Bourret/Gibon
No.50 – Larbre Competition – Bornhauser/Canal/Gardel
No.57 – Krohn Racing – Jonsson/Krohn/Rugolo