24 Hours of Le Mans

2011 24 Hours of Le Mans: Hour Six Update

2 Mins read

Marcel Fassler has regained the lead of the 2011 24 Hours of Le Mans after six hours for Audi. The Swiss driver regained the lead of the race as Anthony Davidson handed over control of the no. 7 Peugeot to Marc Gene five minutes before the hour mark.

Davidson entered the sixth hour in the lead as Peugeot go further than their German counterparts in each stint. Davidson then made the car’s sixth pitstop, relinquishing the lead to Fassler in the process. Fassler pitted for fuel near the half hour mark, handing the lead back to Davidson. The Briton kept his lead until 5h55m in, when he brought his stint to an end to allow Gene to take over. The Spaniard rejoined a minute behind Fassler on the track, with the pair level on seven stops each, but with the Audi not far from its next stop.

The no. 9 and 8 Peugeots are third and fourth, with Pedro Lamy and Nicolas Minassian behind the wheel. Mike Rockenfeller has taken over the no. 1 Audi from Romain Dumas, which is fifth.

Oreca continue to lead in LMP2, with more than a lap over their nearest challenger – the Greaves Motorsport Zytek driven by Karim Ojjeh.

GTE Pro continues to be a close battle, with Richard Westbrook leading in the no. 74 Corvette. Andy Priaulx is second for BMW, within a minute of the Corvette. Toni Vilander had been third in the AF Corse Ferrari, until he found the gravel at Mulsanne corner. Once he was towed out he drove away again, even though the marshals hadn’t yet detached the tow rope from the rear of his car. This did drop him down the order though, with Stephane Ortelli taking third in his Luxury Racing Ferrari.

The Larbre Corvette leads the GTE Am category, just ahead of the Krohn Ferrari.

2011 24 Hours of Le Mans standings after six hours:

No.2 – Audi Sport Team Joest – Fassler/Lotterer/Treluyer
No.7 – Peugeot Sport Total – Davidson/Gene/Wurz
No.9 – Team Peugeot Total – Bourdais/Pagenaud/Lamy

No.48 – Team ORECA Matmut – Hallyday/Kraihamer/Premat
No.41 – Greaves Motorsport – Ojjeh/Kimber-Smith/Lombard
No.42 – Strakka Racing – Leventis/Kane/Watts

No.74 – Corvette Racing – Gavin/Magnussen/Westbrook
No.56 – BMW Motorsport –  Hand/Muller/Priaulx
No.59 – Luxury Racing – Ortelli/Makowiecki/Melo

No.50 – Larbre Competition – Bornhauser/Canal/Gardel
No.57 – Krohn Racing – Jonsson/Krohn/Rugolo
No.60 – Gulf AMR Middle East – Giroux/Goethe/Wainwright

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansDakar

Rene Metge, 1941–2024

2 Mins read
The legendary René Metge, three-time winner of the Dakar Rally and 1986 24 Hours of Le Mans class winner, passed away Wednesday at the age of 82.
24 Hours of Le Mans24 Hours of SpaFIA WECIMSA

Aston Martin Racing Unveils All-Star Works Driver Lineup for 2024

2 Mins read
Aston Martin’s powerhouse of drivers for 2024 promises an exciting journey ahead, combining seasoned champions and rising stars for race success.
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

TF Sport Unveils Corvette Z06 GT3.R #82 Driver Lineup

2 Mins read
TF Sport introduces Hiroshi Koizumi, Sébastien Baud, and Dani Juncadella for a promising FIA WEC 2024 season.