24 Hours of Le Mans

2011 24 Hours of Le Mans: Hour Ten Update

1 Mins read

A second full hour under the safety car following Mike Rockenfeller's crash saw little change on track, the only changes in order coming through pitstops as many teams opted to use the neutral period to perform full services on the cars, including brake pad changes.

One car effected by problems was the no.7 Peugeot. Wurz climbed into the car, but it was slow leaving the pits, reportedly with a problem with the door catch, a regular complaint with the 908 as one of the other cars suffered a similar problem earlier in the race.

The stop – partly because of the delay, partly due to the delay of pitting under the safety car at Le Mans – dropped the no.7 car to fourth behind both the other works Peugeots.

While Team ORECA Matmut remain comfortable in the LMP1 lead there were also problems for the no.49 OAK Racing LMP2 car. The entry had been one of many to suffer a puncture during the daylight hours, but since then had mounted a fightback towards the top five in class. However, a stop, which included the rear bodywork being taken off the car, dropped it back once again.

The retirement list continues to grow, the GTEAm CRS Racing car of Roger Wills, Pierre Ehret and Shaun Lynn the latest car to go behind a closed garage door, the damage from their earlier accident proving too bad to repair.

Corvette Racing's no.74 car continues to lead GTEPro, now holding a lap advantage over the Prospeed Competition Porsche and the no.51 AF Corse Ferrari in third.

2011 24 Hours of Le Mans standings after ten hours:

No.2 – Audi Sport Team Joest – Fassler/Lotterer/Treluyer
No.7 – Peugeot Sport Total – Davidson/Gene/Wurz
No.9 – Peugeot Sport Total – Bordais/Lamy/Pagenaud

No.48 – Team ORECA Matmut – Hallyday/Kraihamer/Premat
No.41 – Greaves Motorsport – Ojjeh/Kimber-Smith/Lombard
No.39 – Pecom Racing – Perez-Companc/Russo/Kaffer

No.74 – Corvette Racing – Gavin/Magnussen/Westbrook
No.59 – Luxury Racing – Melo/Makowiecki/Ortelli
No.75 – Prospeed Competition – Goossens/Holzer/van Lagen

No.70 – Larbre Competion – Belloc/Bourret/Gibon
No.50 – Larbre Competition – Bornhauser/Canal/Gardel
No.57 – Krohn Racing – Jonsson/Krohn/Rugolo

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

Rebellion Racing will not take part in Bahrain WEC Finale

1 Mins read
The 24 Hours of Le Mans was the final outing for Rebellion Racing as they have withdrawn their car from the FIA World Endurance Championship 2020 8 Hours of Bahrain.
24 Hours of Le MansFeaturesFIA WEC

2020 24 Hours of Le Mans: Toyota Take Triple Victory as Aston Martin do the Double

3 Mins read
The final six hours of the 24 Hours of Le Mans offered up chaotic racing, with the class leaders decided in the final stages of the race.
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

2020 24 Hours of Le Mans: Disaster for Toyota Through the Night

2 Mins read
In what was looking to be Mike Conway’s first Le Mans victory, disaster struck the Toyota Gazoo Racing #7 through the night at the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply