GP2 SeriesOpen Wheel

Pic On Pole As Addax Lockout Front Row At Home In Valencia

1 Mins read

Charles Pic claimed pole position for the GP2 Series feature race at the Valencia Street Circuit, beating teammate Giedo van der Garde as the Addax Team locked out the front row at their home race.

Van der Garde went quickest halfway through the session with a time that looked good enough for pole. A subsequent red flag caused by Johnny Cecotto spinning at Turn 2 left only a few minutes at the end for drivers to improve their times.

Pic was able to improve and beat van der Garde's benchmark by just 0.052s to claim pole position.

Pic's pole time came just before championship leader Romain Grosjean hit the wall, bringing the red flags back out and ending the session. The Frenchman's best time was still good enough for third on the grid however.

Luca Filippi qualified in fourth for Super Nova, with Esteban Gutierrez scoring his best qualifying result so far in fifth for ART. Sam Bird, who is tied with Grosjean at the head of the standings, was sixth, ahead of Dani Clos and Davide Valsecchi.

Free practice pacesetter Jules Bianchi could only manage ninth place, with Marcus Ericsson, winner at Valencia 12 months ago, in tenth.

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Charles Pic Barwa Addax Team 1:46.675
2 Giedo Van Der Garde Barwa Addax Team 1:46.727 0.052
3 Romain Grosjean DAMS 1:46.771 0.096
4 Luca Filippi Super Nova Racing 1:46.953 0.278
5 Esteban Gutiérrez Lotus ART 1:46.995 0.320
6 Sam Bird iSport International 1:47.016 0.341
7 Dani Clos Racing Engineering 1:47.041 0.366
8 Davide Valsecchi Caterham Team AirAsia 1:47.129 0.454
9 Jules Bianchi Lotus ART 1:47.337 0.662
10 Marcus Ericsson iSport International 1:47.417 0.742
11 Luiz Razia Caterham Team AirAsia 1:47.418 0.743
12 Max Chilton Carlin 1:47.451 0.776
13 Álvaro Parente Carlin 1:47.752 1.077
14 Pal Varhaug DAMS 1:47.802 1.127
15 Christian Vietoris Racing Engineering 1:47.875 1.200
16 Stefano Coletti Trident Racing 1:47.963 1.288
17 Jolyon Palmer Arden International 1:48.032 1.357
18 Michael Herck Scuderia Coloni 1:48.056 1.381
19 Fabio Leimer Rapax 1:48.234 1.559
20 Johnny Cecotto Ocean Racing Technology 1:48.337 1.662
21 Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova Racing 1:48.527 1.852
22 Josef Král Arden International 1:48.601 1.926
23 Kevin Ceccon Scuderia Coloni 1:48.631 1.956
24 Rodolfo González Trident Racing 1:48.716 2.041
25 Julian Leal Rapax 1:48.768 2.093
26 Kevin Mirocha Ocean Racing Technology 1:48.972 2.297
Related posts
Formula 2Open Wheel

Schumacher and Zhou score wins at the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 championship

4 Mins read
Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou took home a win a piece in the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Pagenaud: "It was a tough, dramatic weekend, but we prevailed"

3 Mins read
After the intimidating task of starting last in both Iowa IndyCar 250s, Simon Pagenaud and his team finished brilliantly with a win and a fourth place finish.
Formula 1Open Wheel

Sauber Motorsport Unveil New Academy Program

1 Mins read
Sauber Motorsport AG have announced a new academy program as well as it’s first four inductees, including the son of a two-time Formula 1 world champion.

Leave a Reply