GP3 SeriesOpen Wheel

Williamson Scores Maiden GP3 Pole In Valencia

1 Mins read

Lewis Williamson secured his first ever pole position in GP3 in qualifying at Valencia.

The Scottish MW Arden driver went quickest in the final five minutes of the session, displacing fellow Briton Adrian Quaife-Hobbs of Manor. Dean Smith moved up into second place at the end of the session for Addax, creating a British 1-2-3.

New Zealander Mitch Evans qualified in fourth in the second of the MW Arden cars, with Aaro Vainio in fifth for Tech 1.

Alexander Sims and Tom Dillmann, the two pacesetters in Friday practice, will line up sixth and seventh on the grid.

Gabby Chaves ensured all three Addax cars were in the top ten at the team's home race, with the ART pairing of Valtteri Bottas and James Calado.

Championship leader Nigel Melker could only manage 12th on the grid.

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Lewis Williamson MW Arden 1:58.693
2 Dean Smith Addax Team 1:58.857 0.164
3 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Marussia Manor Racing 1:58.881 0.188
4 Mitch Evans MW Arden 1:58.892 0.199
5 Aaro Vainio Tech 1 Racing 1:58.984 0.291
6 Alexander Sims Status Grand Prix 1:58.986 0.293
7 Tom Dillmann Addax Team 1:58.986 0.293
8 Gabby Chaves Addax Team 1:59.023 0.330
9 Valtteri Bottas Lotus ART 1:59.025 0.332
10 James Calado Lotus ART 1:59.105 0.412
11 Simon Trummer MW Arden 1:59.251 0.558
12 Nigel Melker RSC Mucke Motorsport 1:59.284 0.591
13 Ivan Lukashevich Status Grand Prix 1:59.322 0.629
14 Pedro Nunes Lotus ART 1:59.360 0.667
15 Matias Laine Marussia Manor Racing 1:59.375 0.682
16 Rio Haryanto Marussia Manor Racing 1:59.456 0.763
17 Nico Muller Jenzer Motorsport 1:59.496 0.803
18 Michael Christensen RSC Mucke Motorsport 1:59.542 0.849
19 Daniel Morad Carlin 1:59.557 0.864
20 Luciano Bacheta RSC Mucke Motorsport 1:59.627 0.934
21 Tamas Pal Kiss Tech 1 Racing 1:59.638 0.945
22 Marlon Stockinger Atech CRS GP 1:59.706 1.013
23 Maxim Zimin Jenzer Motorsport 1:59.765 1.072
24 Leonardo Cordeiro Carlin 1:59.791 1.98
25 Conor Daly Carlin 1:59.817 1.124
26 Nick Yelloly Atech CRS GP 1:59.895 1.202
27 Antonio Felix Da Costa Status Grand Prix 1:59.920 1.227
28 Vittorio Ghirelli Jenzer Motorsport 2:00.011 1.318
29 Thomas Hylkema Tech 1 Racing 2:00.083 1.390
30 Zoel Amberg Atech CRS GP 2:00.434 1.741
Related posts
Formula 2Open Wheel

Schumacher and Zhou score wins at the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 championship

4 Mins read
Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou took home a win a piece in the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Pagenaud: "It was a tough, dramatic weekend, but we prevailed"

3 Mins read
After the intimidating task of starting last in both Iowa IndyCar 250s, Simon Pagenaud and his team finished brilliantly with a win and a fourth place finish.
Formula 1Open Wheel

Sauber Motorsport Unveil New Academy Program

1 Mins read
Sauber Motorsport AG have announced a new academy program as well as it’s first four inductees, including the son of a two-time Formula 1 world champion.

Leave a Reply