DTMTouring Cars

Spengler Takes Norisring Pole In Mercedes 1-2-3

1 Mins read

Bruno Spengler scored his fourth pole position from five DTM rounds in 2011 as he led a Mercedes 1-2-3 in qualifying at the Norisring.

Having been third quickest in Q3 the Canadian went second in the final Q4 shootout, beating first-to-run Gary Paffett by just under two tenths of a second.

Jamie Green was next to run but could not beat either of his HWA teammates. Mattias Ekstrom was the final man having topped Q3, but the Abt Audi man would have to settle for fourth behind the Mercedes trio.

A rain shower hit the Nuremburg street circuit half way through the Q3 session, effectively ending the session early. That left Ralf Schumacher, Maro Engel, Timo Scheider and Edoardo Mortara outside of the top four and not making it through to Q4. They will line up in positions five to eight on the grid.

Miguel Molina was the quickest of those knocked out in Q2 and will line up ninth as a result, just ahead of Martin Tomczyk, the championship leader and winner of the previous two rounds.

Oliver Jarvis had been amongst the pacesetters in both practice sessions but he will start 11th, just ahead of Christian Vietoris, David Coulthard and Renger van der Zande.

The four drivers knocked out in the first session were Susie Stoddart, Filipe Albuquerque, the returning Mike Rockenfeller and Rahel Frey. They will make up the back two rows of the grid.

Pos. Driver / Entrant Team/Car Time Session/Gap
1. Bruno Spengler HWA Mercedes 48.222 Q4
2. Gary Paffett HWA Mercedes 48.418 +0.196
3. Jamie Green HWA Mercedes 48.532 +0.310
4. Mattias Ekström Abt Audi 48.593 +0.371
5. Ralf Schumacher HWA Mercedes 48.124 Q3
6. Maro Engel Mucke Mercedes 48.189 Q3
7. Timo Scheider Abt Audi 48.214 Q3
8. Edoardo Mortara Rosberg Audi 48.257 Q3
9. Miguel Molina Abt Audi 48.332 Q2
10. Martin Tomczyk Phoenix Audi 48.353 Q2
11. Oliver Jarvis Abt Audi 48.398 Q2
12. Christian Vietoris Persson Mercedes 48.415 Q2
13. David Coulthard Mucke Mercedes 48.527 Q2
14. Renger van der Zande Persson Mercedes 48.575 Q2
15. Susie Stoddart Persson Mercedes 48.552 Q1
16. Filipe Albuquerque Rosberg Audi 48.600 Q1
17. Mike Rockenfeller Abt Audi 48.617 Q1
18. Rahel Frey Phoenix Audi 48.907 Q1
1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts

Frederic Elsner: “Expectations were absolutely exceeded in the first half of the season”

2 Mins read
DTM Series Manager Frederic Elsner says this year’s season has absolutely exceeded expectations.

Who are DTM’s mid-season standout performers?

5 Mins read
Halfway into the 2022 DTM season, we look at the year’s standout drivers so far.

DTM rookie Felipe Fraga takes his maiden win at Norisring Race two

2 Mins read
Brazilian Felipe Fraga wins from pole in DTM at Norisring race two.