Title Contenders Snatch Clio Poles At Snetterton

by Simon Paice

James Colburn and Aron Smith shared the honours in qualifying for Rounds Eleven and Twelve of the 2011 AirAsia Renault Clio Cup UK around the new Snetterton 300 circuit in Norfolk.

Westbourne Motorsport's Colburn, currently lying fourth in the championship standings, set a best time of 2min 8.937s to take his first pole position of the season. Smith set the second fastest time, just 0.008s ahead of his Team Pyro team-mate Jack Goff, who is joined on row two by local racer Matt Allison.

Fifth fastest was Total Control Racing's James Dixon, just ahead of championship leader Paul Rivett and Scuderia Vittoria's Luke Wright. Eighth was Pyro's Adam Bonham, with the top ten completed by Jake Packun and Josh Files.

The weekend sees a few driver making their first appearance in the series this season, with Team Pyro's Neb Bursac the fastest of them in eleventh, while Andy Jordan and Tim Sweet finished fifteenth and sixteeth respectively.

With the drivers second fastest times forming the grid for Round Twelve, Smith will line up on pole with a 2min 9.243s lap, his third pole position of the season. Scuderia Vittoria's Allison joins him on the front row, ahead of Goff and Colburn. Rivett will start fifth ahead of Dixon and Wright, with Packun, Bonham and Files rounding out the top ten.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More