Rockenfeller Takes First DTM Pole At Brands Hatch

2 Mins read

Mike Rockenfeller scored his first pole position in the DTM in qualifying at Brands Hatch.

A crash for Filipe Albuquerque at Druids in Q1 saw the red flags come out and the other 17 drivers proceed to Q2. The biggest name not to finish that second session in the top eight and proceed to Q3 was Timo Scheider, who could only manage 12th. He was joined on the sidelines for the remainder of the session by local drivers Oliver Jarvis, David Coulthard and Susie Stoddart who were 14th, 16th and 17th respectively.

Jamie Green was the fastest man in Q3, which decides the four drivers that go through to the one-lap shootout for pole position. Joining him in Q4 were Martin Tomczyk, Rockenfeller and Gary Paffett.

Missing out in fifth was Mattias Ekstrom, while championship leader Bruno Spengler could only manage sixth. To make matters worse for the Canadian he had already picked up a two-place grid penalty for using unmarked tyres in practice. This will promote Ralf Schumacher and Miguel Molina into sixth and seventh on the grid.

Paffett was first to run in Q4, but his time was bettered by 0.198s by Rockenfeller who was next up. Tomczyk was the third man to run but fell 0.009s shy of Paffett. Green then missed Rockenfeller's time by 0.255s, leaving him to settle for fourth and Rockenfeller celebrated pole for Audi.

Qualifying result:

Pos. Driver / Entrant / Car Time
1. Mike Rockenfeller
Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline
2. Gary Paffett
Thomas Sabo AMG Mercedes
Thomas Sabo AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
3. Martin Tomczyk
Audi Sport Team Phoenix
Schaeffler Audi A4 DTM
4. Jamie Green
AMG Mercedes
AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
5. Mattias Ekström
Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline
Red Bull Audi A4 DTM
42.039 (Q3)
6. Bruno Spengler
Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG
Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG C-Klasse
42.068 (Q3)
7. Ralf Schumacher
Salzgitter AMG Mercedes
Salzgitter AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
42.080 (Q3)
8. Miguel Molina
Audi Sport Team Abt Junior
Red Bull Audi A4 DTM
42.121 (Q3)
9. Edoardo Mortara
Audi Sport Team Rosberg
Playboy Audi A4 DTM
42.070 (Q2)
10. Maro Engel
GQ AMG Mercedes
GQ AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
42.090 (Q2)
11. Christian Vietoris
Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes
Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
42.093 (Q2)
12. Timo Scheider
Audi Sport Team Abt
42.103 (Q2)
13. Renger van der Zande
stern AMG Mercedes
stern AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
42.223 (Q2)
14. Oliver Jarvis
Audi Sport Team Abt
Audi Sport performance cars A4 DTM
42.263 (Q2)
15. Rahel Frey
Audi Sport Team Phoenix
Glamour Audi A4 DTM
42.275 (Q2)
16. David Coulthard
Deutsche Post AMG Mercedes
Deutsche Post AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
42.320 (Q2)
17. Susie Stoddart
TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes
TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
42.554 (Q2)
18. Filipe Albuquerque
Audi Sport Team Rosberg
TV Movie Audi A4 DTM
42.510 (Q1)
Related posts

Audi Secure the DTM Manufacturers’ Championship With Six Races Still To Run

3 Mins read
Another all Audi podium means that the DTM manufacturers championship is all tied up for this season with Audi being well ahead with 827 points compared to the 356 points of BMW.

The “Flying Dutchman” clinches an extremely rare lights-to-flag victory in the DTM

2 Mins read
Robin Frijns led from start to finish in this unusual race with three safety car appearances at the Nürburgring Sprint circuit.

Frijns Takes Second Victory of 2020 as Championship Leader Müller Fades to Fifth

2 Mins read
Robin Frijns closed the gap on team-mate Nico Müller at the top of the championship standings by winning race two at the Nürburgring on Sunday.

Leave a Reply