Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24

Bruno Spengler’s BMW Switch Is Confirmed

1 Mins read
Bruno Spengler - Photo Credit:

Bruno Spengler waved goodbye to Mercedes at the last round at Hockenheim - Photo Credit:

BMW have confirmed that Bruno Spengler will drive for the marque in its DTM return season in 2012, bringing months of speculation to an end.

The French-Canadian makes the switch from Mercedes, who he had driven for since his DTM debut in 2005. From 74 starts he took nine wins, 11 pole positions and 12 fastest laps. He finished runner-up in both the 2006 and 2007 seasons, but never won the title for the three-pointed star.

In 2010 he led the standings going into the season finale in Shanghai, but ended up third after a disastrous weekend in China. A strong first half to 2011 also saw him lead the standings, but a poor run of form allowed Martin Tomczyk to win the title and Spengler again slipped to third by the season's end.

“In recent weeks we have not only been developing the BMW M3 DTM, but have also been working on the driver line-up for our return to the DTM,” said BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt.

“Outside our current line-up, Bruno Spengler was one of our top choices. Despite his youth he has a lot of DTM experience, which will greatly assist us during our development phase and on race weekends. For this reason, we did not hesitate when the opportunity to sign Bruno up arose. We have yet to decide which of our three teams he will drive for. That will be announced at a later stage.”

Spengler joins existing BMW factory drivers and ex-World Touring Car Championship pilots Andy Priaulx and Augusto Farfus as being confirmed in BMW's roster for 2012.

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
DTMFormula E

Müller to Skip Final Three Rounds, Eriksson Set to Continue in Dragon Seat

1 Mins read
Nico Müller will not return to Formula E for the remainder of the 2020-21 season as he turns his primary focus to racing in the DTM Series.

Kelvin van der Linde Celebrates 25th Birthday With His First DTM Win

2 Mins read
Whilst the rest of the pack battled for second and third place, the birthday boy thundered ahead to take his first ever DTM win.

Liam Lawson Becomes Youngest Ever DTM Race Winner

2 Mins read
In the first race of the 2021 DTM season, 19 year old Lawson gives Ferrari their first ever win in the DTM.

Leave a Reply