Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24

Miguel Molina Claims Pole For DTM Season Finale

2 Mins read
Miguel Molina - Photo Credit:

Miguel Molina - Photo Credit:

Miguel Molina claimed his second DTM pole position in the space of three races by coming out on top in qualifying for the season finale at Hockenheim.

After topping the Q3 session, the Spaniard was the last man to run in the decisive Q4 session. Neither Mike Rockenfeller nor Martin Tomczyk had managed to better HWA Mercedes driver Jamie Green's effort after the Briton was the first of the quartet to go. Molina duly improved on Green's benchmark by 0.203s to score his second DTM pole to add to the one he claimed at Oschersleben.

Behind the front row pair, recently-crowned champion Tomczyk will still be amongst the favourites for victory starting from third, with Rockenfeller in fourth.

Timo Scheider and Bruno Spengler will share the third row of the grid after failing to make it into Q4, with Brits Gary Paffett and Oliver Jarvis lining up on the fourth row and looking for strong finishes to difficult years for Mercedes and Audi respectively.

Filipe Albuquerque and Mattias Ekstrom – winner of the past two races – will start from ninth and tenth after being knocked out at the end of Q2 when Edoardo Mortara crashed as the checkered flag went out. The Italian driver will start 11th, ahead of the Mercedes of Christian Vietoris, Ralf Schumacher and Renger van der Zande.

Maro Engel and David Coulthard will start off the penultimate row of the grid, with female racers Susie Wolff (nee Stoddart) and Rahel Frey bringing up the rear.

Qualifying results

Pos. Driver / Entrant / Car Time  Session
1. Miguel Molina
Audi Sport Team Abt Junior
Red Bull Audi A4 DTM
1:32.717  Q4
2. Jamie Green
AMG Mercedes
AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:32.920  Q4
3. Martin Tomczyk
Audi Sport Team Phoenix
Schaeffler Audi A4 DTM
1:33.039  Q4
4. Mike Rockenfeller
Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline
1:33.510  Q4
5. Timo Scheider
Audi Sport Team Abt
1:32.883  Q3
6. Bruno Spengler
Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG
Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG C-Klasse
1:32.922  Q3
7. Gary Paffett
Thomas Sabo AMG Mercedes
Thomas Sabo AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:33.103  Q3
8. Oliver Jarvis
Audi Sport Team Abt
Audi Sport performance cars A4 DTM
1:33.188  Q3
9. Filipe Albuquerque
Audi Sport Team Rosberg
TV Movie Audi A4 DTM
1:33.085  Q2
10. Mattias Ekström
Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline
Red Bull Audi A4 DTM
1:33.103  Q2
11. Edoardo Mortara
Audi Sport Team Rosberg
Playboy Audi A4 DTM
1:33.144  Q2
12. Christian Vietoris
Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes
Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:33.172  Q2
13. Ralf Schumacher
Salzgitter AMG Mercedes
Salzgitter AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:33.352  Q2
14. Renger van der Zande
stern AMG Mercedes
stern AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:33.617  Q2
15. Maro Engel
GQ AMG Mercedes
GQ AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:33.539  Q1
16. David Coulthard
Deutsche Post AMG Mercedes
Deutsche Post AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:33.761  Q1
17. Susie Wolff
TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes
TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:33.930  Q1
18. Rahel Frey
Audi Sport Team Phoenix
Glamour Audi A4 DTM
1:34.090  Q1
1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
DTMFormula E

Müller to Skip Final Three Rounds, Eriksson Set to Continue in Dragon Seat

1 Mins read
Nico Müller will not return to Formula E for the remainder of the 2020-21 season as he turns his primary focus to racing in the DTM Series.

Kelvin van der Linde Celebrates 25th Birthday With His First DTM Win

2 Mins read
Whilst the rest of the pack battled for second and third place, the birthday boy thundered ahead to take his first ever DTM win.

Liam Lawson Becomes Youngest Ever DTM Race Winner

2 Mins read
In the first race of the 2021 DTM season, 19 year old Lawson gives Ferrari their first ever win in the DTM.

Leave a Reply