Formula Renault UK

Formula Renault UK Axed For 2012

1 Mins read

The Formula Renault UK Series, As Won By Alex Lynn In 2011, Has Been Axed For 2012 - Photo Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography


The once-popular Formula Renault 2.0 UK Championship has been axed for 2012 after a low entry.

The decision comes just two weeks before the expected first round of the series at Brands Hatch, after just six drivers signed up to the championship, Josh Webster, Josh Hill, Shahaan Engineer, Dan de Zille, Gabriel Casagrande and Jake Dennis.

The series, which has produced a host of top-level drivers including F1 World Champions Kimi Raikkonen and Lewis Hamilton, has been suffering from falling grid numbers for the last few seasons.

In 2010 the series introduced the latest Barazi-Epsilon chassis and in that year, whilst a total of 32 drivers competed in the series over the year, grid numbers at individual meetings averaged 18. The average fell to 13 last season and despite attempts to increase interest this season, including an increased number of races and guest appearances on the British F3/GT bill and at the Masters of F3 event at Zandvoort, entries could not be boosted.

Renault UK Managing Director Thierry Sybord said: “This is the most sensible decision for all concerned. Initially there is a feeling of shock that this prestigious series will not take place this year but, upon reflection, trying to run the Formula Renault UK Championship in its current state is unacceptable for the drivers, teams, sponsors, suppliers and, of course, the spectators.”

Renault UK and Renault Sport Technologies, who took the difficult decision to postpone the series, believe the drivers signed up for 2012 will have the opportunity to race their cars in Europe instead, in the Northern European Cup series.

Avatar photo
4148 posts

About author
Simon is an experienced journalist and PR officer, who has worked in the national motorsport paddocks for over a decade, primarily on the BTCC support package.
Related posts
Formula 1Formula Renault BARCFormula Renault UKW Series

Alice Powell Joins Alpine as Talent Identification and Development Mentor

2 Mins read
Alice Powell joins Alpine as talent identification and development mentor. She will help in finding young female talent, mentoring them into the Academy and Affiliate programme.
Formula Renault UK

Formula Renault UK 2011: Where Are They Now?

10 Mins read
Following the news last month that a planned Formula Renault UK revival has been scrapped for this season, the 2011 edition of the single-seater championship…
Formula Renault BARCFormula Renault UK

No UK Formula Renault For 2015

2 Mins read
Plans to revive Formula Renault UK have been scrapped, meaning there will be no British Formula Renault series for the first time since 1988.