Audis Ahead In New-Look DTM’s First Practice Session

1 Mins read
Filipe Albuquerque - Photo Credit: ITR

Albuquerque claimed the honour of topping the first session of the new-look DTM - Photo Credit: ITR

The new era of the DTM got underway with the first free practice session at Hockenheim on Friday, with six of Audi's eight new A5 models locking out the top six places in ominous fashion.

It was Portugal's Filipe Albuquerque who got his second DTM season off to the best start, the Team Rosberg driver ending up a narrow 0.016 seconds ahead of Mike Rockenfeller, who has replaced Martin Tomczyk at Phoenix Racing after the reigning champion's switch to BMW.

Albuquerque's Rosberg teammate Edoardo Mortara was third fastest at the start of his second DTM campaign, two-thirds of a tenth away. Timo Scheider was the best of the 'crack' Abt Sportsline drivers in fourth place. Phoenix's Miguel Molina took fifth, just ahead of Scheider's teammate Mattias Ekstrom.

Gary Paffett was the best of the Mercedes in seventh, only just ahead of DTM debutant and reigning Formula Renault 3.5 champion Robert Wickens.

Fellow single-seater convert Adrien Tambay was ninth, the only rookie in Audi's lineup this season. David Coulthard was tenth in his Mercedes as he embarks on a third DTM season. Christian Vietoris was 11th as he makes his first competitive outing with Mercedes' top team HWA.

Andy Priaulx was the fastest of the BMWs in 12th, just under nine tenths off the ultimate pace and only half a second away from the top Mercedes. His more experienced teammates Bruno Spengler and Martin Tomczyk were just behind him.

Joey Hand was 15th in his BMW, ahead of reigning Formula 3 Euro Series champion Roberto Merhi, who in turn was 0.004s in front of fellow Mercedes driver Jamie Green. Dirk Werner, Susie Wolff, Ralf Schumacher, Augusto Farfus and Rahel Frey completed the times.

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
DTMFormula E

Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY Champion and Reigning DTM Champion to test for Jaguar

3 Mins read
Jaguar have announced that Simon Evans and reigning DTM Champion Sheldon van der Linde will complete Monday’s Rookie Test for the team.
DTMFormula EFormula Regional European Championship

ABT CUPRA to run Reigning ETCR Champion and ADAC Youngster in Rookie Test

2 Mins read
Reigning ETCR Champion Adrien Tambay and FREC driver Tim Tramnitz will drive for ABT CUPRA next Monday in the Formula E Rookie Test
DTMFormula E

Kelvin van der Linde to replace Robin Frijns for foreseeable future

3 Mins read
ABT DTM driver Kelvin van der Linde has been confirmed as Robin Frijns’ replacement at next weekend’s Diriyah E-Prix, with the Dutchman ruled out for potentially the bulk of the season.