Spengler Keeps Paffett At Bay To Win For BMW At Lausitz

1 Mins read
Bruno Spengler and Gary Paffett - Photo Credit: DTM Media

Men in Black: Spengler came under race-long pressure from Paffett - Photo Credit: DTM Media

BMW have claimed victory in just the second race of their DTM return after Bruno Spengler converted pole position into the win at the Lausitzring by keeping the Mercedes of Hockenheim winner Gary Paffett behind for the entire race.

BMW had lockout the front row in qualifying with Augusto Farfus joining Spengler, but the latter was beaten off the line by a fast-starting Paffett.

Spengler and Paffett went away at the head of the field, and at both set of pitstops Paffett stopped before his rival. But on both occasions Spengler was able to rejoin in the lead. Paffett close to around half a second behind, but ran wide at Turn 1 on the very last lap which allowed Spengler to cross the line with a second's advantage over his former teammate and claim BMW's first DTM win for 20 years.

Farfus had a similar job of keeping a Mercedes behind him, in the form of Jamie Green. Green had started sixth, but got by fourth-place starter Mike Rockenfeller on the second lap when the Audi man slipped back to eighth. Green then caught the leading Audi of Edoardo Mortara, passing him on lap eight.

He stayed out until lap 25 before making his first pitstop, some ten laps after Farfus had done so. A slow stop for Green due to an issue changing the rear left wheel meant that he rejoined still behind Farfus.

At the second stops Green came in a lap earlier than the Brazilian, who still managed to retain the place. Six tenths separated them at the flag, both around seven seconds behind the lead duo.

Mattias Ekstrom took up the position of lead Audi from Mortara, having got ahead of Martin Tomczyk when they ran side-by-side coming out of the pits after their first stop. At the second stops he lost out briefly to Abt Sportsline teammate Timo Scheider, but soon got back ahead to claim fifth.

Reigning champion Tomczyk came home seventh in his BMW, ahead of Mortara, who just kept his Team Rosberg teammate Filipe Albuquerque behind. Ralf Schumacher claimed the final point in tenth.

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts

Van der Linde storms to a Lausitzring DTM double

1 Mins read
Sheldon Van der Linde completes DTM double at Lausitzring.

BMW take their first DTM win of the season at Lausitzring

1 Mins read
Sheldon van der Linde wins Lausitzring DTM opener.

Nico Müller dominates the second race of DTM’s opening weekend in the Algarve.

1 Mins read
Nico Müller wins from pole in the second race of DTM’s opening weekend at the Portimão Circuit.