Rutter Racks Up Eighth Macau Grand Prix Victory

Michael Rutter moved further clear as the most successful motorcycle racer in Macau history by winning the 46th Grand Prix on the streets on Sunday. The 40 year old went into the race as favourite after topping both qualifying sessions and duly claimed a comfortable win by just under five seconds.

Rutter was beaten off the line by Gary Johnson but quickly regained the lead before cruising into the distance. Johnson was left to fend off the riders behind and was unable to prevent Martin Jessopp and Simon Andrews knocking him off the podium. Jessopp chased valiantly, setting the fastest lap in the process, but Rutter had the race well under control, enabling to take an historic eighth win.

To get my eighth win here is just incredible, I love this event”, he said. “It was a tough race and Martin kept me on my toes but the Pirelli tyres continued to give great grip throughout the race, allowing me to keep pushing to the very end.

It was also Pirelli’s fifth victory in as many starts at Macau and Pirelli UK Racing Manager Jason Griffiths was proud of the achievement.

“Michael made a great start and controlled the race throughout. He ran the same road race spec rear Diablo Superbike as last year, confident with its consistent performance and knowing durability would not be an issue and Martin took a deserved second with a slightly softer option. Our thanks go to the SMT Honda and Riders Ducati teams for their commitment to Pirelli.”

Behind the top three, Johnson was fourth after holding off a late challenge from Horst Saiger while Conor Cummins took sixth. Despite qualifying second, John McGuinness could only manage seventh with James Storrar, Dan Kneen and James Hillier completing the top ten.


 Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix – 46th Edition – Race Result (10 Laps)
Pos Rider Bike Team Time/Gap
1  Michael Rutter Honda SMT Racing 24:48.918
2  Martin Jessopp Ducati Riders +4.918
3  Simon Andrews BMW Ice Valley by Motorsave Trade +11.288
4  Gary Johnson Honda Quattro Plant Motorsports +16.235
5  Horst Saiger Kawasaki +17.410
6  Conor Cummins Suzuki Tyco Suzuki +19.159
7  John McGuinness Honda SMT Racing +27.796
8  James Storrar BMW DMR +33.480
9  Dan Kneen Suzuki Marks Bloom Racing +37.884
10  James Hillier Kawasaki Bournemouth Kawasaki Racing +42.985
11  Steve Mercer Honda T & R Motorsport +44.603
12  James McBride BMW DMR +54.940
13  Branko Srdanov BMW Ice Valley by Motorsave Trade +56.795
14  Didier Grams BMW German Team Heidger +59.501
15  Mark Miller Aprilia Splitlath Redmond +1:17.652
16  David Johnson Aprilia Splitlath Redmond +1:24.673
17  Riko Penzkofer BMW Penz 13 +1:32.062
18  Steve Heneghan Kawasaki Quattro Plant Motorsports +1:35.081
19  Davy Morgan Suzuki CSC Racing +1:39.189
20  Jamie Hamilton Kawasaki RPM Performance +1:39.313
21  Yoshinari Matsushita BMW Penz 13 +1:48.521
22  Brandon Cretu Honda Hel Performance +3:42.516
23  Joao Fernandes BMW Penz 13 +1 Lap
Not Classified
   Rafael Paschoalin BMW TT Brazilian Team +7 Laps