Rutter Secures Pole For Macau Motorcycle GP

1 Mins read

Michael Rutter is well placed to challenge for a record-eighth Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix victory after securing pole position. The SMT Racing rider was comfortably quicker than everybody else in Qualifying 1 and although the gap was closed in the second session, no-one could stop him claiming an eighth pole at Macau.

The biggest challenge to Rutter came from his SMT Racing teammate John McGuinness, winner here in 2001, who put in a 2:27.545s lap but Rutter managed to find almost a second on his Q1 best to edge him out by two tenths. Martin Jessopp was demoted to third in the second session although he did hold off Gary Johnson who knocked three seconds off his previous best.

Conor Cummins will start fifth ahead of Horst Saiger with Simon Andrews the leading BMW on the grid in seventh. James Storrar is eighth ahead of the Isle of Man’s Dan Kneen while James Hillier will complete the top ten when the race starts tomorrow.

The 46th Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix had been scheduled to take place on Saturday but the weather refused to co-operate. Rain on Friday morning had already pushed the final qualifying session back leaving no time for the race to take place, forcing a postponement until Sunday.


 Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix – 46th Edition – Second Qualifying Classification
Pos Rider Bike Team Time/Gap
1  Michael Rutter Honda SMT Racing 2:27.545
2  John McGuinness Honda SMT Racing +0.218
3  Martin Jessopp Ducati Riders +1.742
4  Gary Johnson Honda Quattro Plant Motorsports +1.952
5  Conor Cummins Suzuki Tyco Suzuki +2.530
6  Horst Saiger Kawasaki +2.658
7  Simon Andrews BMW Ice Valley by Motorsave Trade +2.711
8  James Storrar BMW DMR +3.306
9  Dan Kneen Suzuki Marks Bloom Racing +4.135
10  James Hillier Kawasaki Bournemouth Kawasaki Racing +4.242
11  Didier Grams BMW German Team Heidger +4.305
12  James McBride BMW DMR +4.857
13  Riko Penzkofer BMW Penz 13 +6.005
14  Steve Mercer Honda T & R Motorsport +6.659
15  Branko Srdanov BMW Ice Valley by Motorsave Trade +7.124
16  Mark Miller Aprilia Splitlath Redmond +7.572
17  David Johnson Aprilia Splitlath Redmond +7.724
18  Stephen Thompson BMW T & R Motorsport +8.857
19  Steve Heneghan Kawasaki Quattro Plant Motorsports +10.485
20  Rafael Paschoalin BMW TT Brazilian Team +12.753
21  Davy Morgan Suzuki CSC Racing +13.593
Current Maximum Qualifying Time: 2:42.299 (+14.754)
22  Yoshinari Matsushita BMW Penz 13 +14.779
23  Nuno Caetano Suzuki KS Team Of Portugal +15.099
24  Brandon Cretu Honda Hel Performance +15.402
25  Joao Fernandes BMW Penz 13 +17.654
26  Fernando Costa Ducati Pon Pone Squadra +19.682
27  Sou Sio Hong Honda Sou Sio Hong +24.729
28  Jamie Hamilton Kawasaki RPM Performance +48.780


5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
MotorcyclesNASCAR Cup Series

NASCAR, American Flat Track join forces for Charlotte Roval weekend

1 Mins read
For the first time ever, the NASCAR Cup Series and American Flat Track will share a race weekend together, doing so at Charlotte Motor Speedway in October.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscars

Coronavirus Outbreak Forces FIA to Create Crisis Cell to Manage Latest Developments

1 Mins read
The FIA has set up a Crisis Cell to keep track of the latest happenings with regards to the Coronavirus as it continues to affect thousands of people around the globe.