Aston Martin Enjoy Strong Silverstone Weekend

Senna, Mucke and Turner dominated LMGTE Pro (Photo Credit: Aston Martin Racing)

Aston Martin couldn’t have asked for a better start to the 2013 FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC), as they walked away from Silverstone with two GT winners trophies.

The #97 Vantage GTE of Darren Turner, Stefan Mucke and Bruno Senna took the honours in the LMGTE Pro category, while the #95 car of Christoffer Nygaard, Kristian Poulsen and Allan Simonsen were victorious in LMGTE Am.

“I’m really happy to start my GT career with a win.” said Senna. “It’s been great joining Aston Martin Racing and to get a pole position and win and go home from our first WEC race of the year with so many points for the championship is unbelievable. It was a tough race; we had to push hard while avoiding accidents, but my team did a great job. We must now keep pushing hard; the competition here is very, very strong.”

There were also strong finishes for the remaining Aston Martins, with the #97 car, driven by Pedro Lamy, Paul Dalla Lana and Frederic Makowiecki taking third place in GT Pro. The #96 car of Jamie Campbell-Walter, Roald Goethe and Stuart Hall taking fourth in GT Am, having battled for a podium finish all day.

“I’m very happy on behalf of the whole team.” said Simonsen. “It was a big push to get us here and to start the season with points is fantastic. To do it on Aston Martin Racing’s home turf is even better; we couldn’t be happier.”

“Today’s outcome was better than we anticipated.” concluded Aston Martin Racing Team Principle John Gow. “We got much more than we expected out of the first race of the season; we came here aiming to score points with all four cars. This certainly bodes well for the championship.

“To do this at our home race in Aston Martin’s centenary year is extra special. I’d like to particularly thank the technicians and engineers and all others who have worked tirelessly since Shanghai to expand to this four-car effort. We look forward, as a team, to challenging for more race wins.”