Rossi Leads Friday Practice Times In Barcelona

Valentino Rossi finished a practice session on top for the first time since returning to Yamaha after a lap flyer took him past teammate Jorge Lorenzo in Catalunya. As at Mugello, Friday was a day for the Yamahas with Cal Crutchlow fourth behind Dani Pedrosa, just two tenths separating the quarter at the front.

Lorenzo was on the pace immediately in the afternoon’s session, setting the fastest lap of the day on just his second timed lap, a 1:42.346. The world champion wasn’t happy though as he remonstrated with his engineers in the garage and he would be knocked off the top late on when Rossi fitted a softer rear tyre, using it to clock a 1:42.297.

Pedrosa and Crutchlow were close behind the factory YZR-M1s after finding time late in the afternoon, demoting Alvaro Bautista to fifth with Marc Marquez an unusually subdued sixth. The factory Ducatis of Nicky Hayden and Andrea Dovizioso were line astern in seventh and eighth while Stefan Bradl was relegated to ninth after tumbling at turn ten on his LCR Honda.

Bradley Smith’s bruising time in the premier class continued with the already battered Briton suffering another crash today, this time at the high-speed turn three. After failing to get back out afterwards, Smith couldn’t improve on fourteenth and faces a battle to reach Q2 tomorrow.


Catalan Flag 2013 Gran Premi Aperol di Catalunya – Combined Free Practice Classification
Pos Rider Bike Team Best Time
1  Valentino Rossi Yamaha Yamaha Factory Racing 1:42.297
2  Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Yamaha Factory Racing 1:42.346
3  Dani Pedrosa Honda Repsol Honda Team 1:42.445
4  Cal Crutchlow Yamaha Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:42.492
5  Alvaro Bautista Honda GO&FUN Honda Gresini 1:42.752
6  Marc Marquez Honda Repsol Honda Team 1:42.857
7  Nicky Hayden Ducati Ducati Team 1:42.890
8  Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati Team 1:42.988
9  Stefan Bradl Honda LCR Honda MotoGP 1:43.005
10  Aleix Espargaro ART Power Electronics Aspar 1:43.204
11  Andrea Iannone Ducati Energy T.I. Pramac Racing 1:43.272
12  Randy de Puniet ART Power Electronics Aspar 1:43.644
13  Michele Pirro Ducati Ignite Pramac Racing 1:43.648
14  Bradley Smith Yamaha Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:44.247
15  Hector Barbera FTR Avintia Blusens 1:44.461
16  Colin Edwards FTR Kawasaki NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:44.586
17  Karel Abraham ART Cardion AB Motoracing 1:44.599
18  Danilo Petrucci Ioda Suter Came IodaRacing Project 1:44.609
19  Michael Laverty PBM Paul Bird Motorsport 1:45.337
20  Claudio Corti FTR Kawasaki NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:45.513
21  Yonny Hernandez ART Paul Bird Motorsport 1:45.824
22  Hiroshi Aoyama FTR Avintia Blusens 1:45.834
23  Bryan Staring FTR Honda GO&FUN Honda Gresini 1:46.577
24  Lukas Pesek FTR Came Ioda Racing Project 1:47.239