2014 Rolex 24 At Daytona: Hour 11 Update

2 Mins read
2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona (Courtesy of IMSA)

Scott Dixon took the lead of the Rolex 24 at Daytona shortly before the end of eleventh hour racing, taking advantage as Christian Fittipaldi got up to speed after taking over the #5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP.

Fittipaldi took over from Joao Barbosa who had resisted pressure from Dixon in the laps immediately following the restart after the latest full course caution period, before starting to pull away – though the exact gap fluctuated due to traffic around the track.

Dixon pitted first, Barbosa following in a few laps later to turned the car over to Fittipaldi who returned to the race in the lead. However, on Fittipaldi’s first full lap back in the car Dixon was able to complete a pass through the International Horseshoe.

The other Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates hit problems – and the wall – Scott Pruett hitting the outside wall around turn three of the Super Speedway doing significant damage to the right-front of the #01 car which went straight to the garage for repairs, where it remained at the end of the hour.

Antonio Garvia led the GTLM class to the restart but was quickly usurped by Porsche North America’s Patrick Pilet who began to pull away. Later in the hour Garcia departed the lead battle – temporarily – with a pitstop, while both Porsche drivers continued their stints to run first and second in the class at the end of the hour.

It was a similar story in GTD where Kuba Giermaziak and Alessandro Balzan were nose-to-tail for the class lead after the restart before Balzan began to ease away in the Scuderia Corsa Ferrari. However, he too would pit before his immediate challengers, Jeff Westphal taking over the car down in fourth place in the class.

CORE Autosport lead the PC class with Mark Wilkins at the wheel of the car that started the race from pole in the spec class.

2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona standings after 11 hours

#02 Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates – Riley-Ford – Dixon/Kanaan/Franchitti/Larson
#5 Action Express Racing – Corvette DP – Barbosa/Fittipaldi/Bourdais/Frisselle
#9 Action Express Racing – Corvette DP – Frisselle/Frisselle/Martin/Giroux

#54 CORE Autosport – ORECA FLM09 – Bennett/Gue/Braun/Wilkins
#25 8Star Motorsports – ORECA FLM09 – Potolicchio/Kimber-Smith/Marsal/Huff
#87 BAR1 Motorsports – ORECA FLM09 – Rayhall/Kovacic/Bielefield/Kearby/Kasemets

#911 Porsche North America – Porsche 911 – Tandy/Lietz/Pilet
#912 Porsche North America – Porsche 911 – Long/Christenson/Bergmeister
#56 BMW Team RLL – BMW Z4 – Muller/Edwards/Rahal/Werner

#30 NGT Motorsports – Porsche 911 – Cisneros/Giermaziak/Nielsen/Thiim
#58 Snow Racing – Porsche 911 – Snow/Heylen/Seefried
#22 Alex Job Racing – Porsche 911 – MacNeil/Keen/van Gisbergen/Lewis/Domoulin

Related posts

Austin Dillon, Salih Yoluc join RWR Eurasia and Cody Ware for 2021 Rolex 24

2 Mins read
2018 Daytona 500 winner Austin Dillon and reigning 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Salih Yoluç will join 2019 Asian Le Mans champion Cody Ware in the RWR Eurasia entry for the 2021 Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona.

Chase Elliott joins Action Express for Rolex 24 debut alongside Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, Felipe Nasr

2 Mins read
Reigning NASCAR Cup champion Chase Elliott will make his Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona début for Action Express Racing, sharing the #31 Cadillac DPi-V.R with Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, and Felipe Nasr.
FeaturesFIA WECFormula EIMSA

The Audi Story, Part 3: Racing into the Future

3 Mins read
In the final instalment of The Audi Story, TheCheckeredFlag looks over Audi’s recent racing history, its move into electric racing and where the marque will go next.

Leave a Reply