Yelloly Puts Status on Top on Day 1 in Jerez

British Driver Nick Yelloly finished the first day of the GP3 Series pre-season test at the Circuito de Jerez fastest for his new Status Grand Prix team. Yelloly’s quickest time of 1:31.350s set in the morning session was enough to see him push Estoril pacesetter Alex Lynn into second place, the Carlin driver finishing 0.244s behind his fellow Brit.

Uruguayan rookie Santiago Urrutia was third for Koiranen and was the final driver to set a lap time under the 1:32s barrier. Two more British drivers in the form of ART Grand Prix’s Dino Zamparelli and Carlin’s Emil Bernstorff completed the top five, while Zamparelli’s ART team-mates Alex Fontana and Marvin Kirchhofer finished sixth and seventh.

The second Status Grand Prix entry of New Zealander Richie Stanaway, who is apparently close to being confirmed at the team for this season was eighth fastest, just ahead of Norwegian Pal Varhaug in the leading Jenzer Motorsport entry. Another Brit and the fastest of the Arden International entrants, Jann Mardenborough, rounded out the top ten.

Christopher Hoher caused the first red flag of the day when he spun his Jenzer Motorsport machine, the Austrian finishing the day 22nd fastest. Hilmer Motorsport’s Nelson Mason caused the second stoppage when his car stopped on track, while the third and final red flag was brought out by second year driver Patrick Kujala, his Marussia Manor Racing car also stopping out on the circuit. Mason ended the first day of Hilmer Motorsport’s adventure into GP3 16th fastest, while the second Hilmer machine of Russian Ivan Taranov was 24th.

Testing resumes tomorrow morning at 09:00am until 16:00, with an hour break between 12:00 and 13:00.

Jerez Day 1 Pre-Season Test Times

1 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix 1:31.350
2 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin 1:31.594
3 Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP 1:31.931
4 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix 1:32.130
5 Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin 1:32.205
6 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix 1:32.227
7 Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix 1:32.237
8 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix 1:32.354
9 Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport 1:32.450
10 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International 1:32.504
11 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing 1:32.653
12 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International 1:32.687
13 Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin 1:32.726
14 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International 1:32.763
15 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP 1:32.901
16 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport 1:33.097
17 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:33.119
18 Adderly Fong CHN Jenzer Motorsport 1:33.210
19 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:33.426
20 Roman De Beer RSA Trident Racing 1:33.712
21 Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix 1:33.726
22 Christopher Hoher AUT Jenzer Motorsport 1:34.243
23 Denis Nagulin RUS Trident Racing 1:34.469
24 Ivan Taranov RUS Hilmer Motorsport 1:34.557
25 Victor Carbone BRZ Trident Racing 1:35.571
26 Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP 1:36.410