European Formula 3

Lotus Junior Esteban Ocon Takes Win Number Two at Hockenheim

2 Mins read

Frenchman Esteban Ocon became the first driver in 2014 to win twice as he took the spoils in the second race at Hockenheim. The Lotus-backed Prema Powerteam driver held off Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver Antonio Giovinazzi with Dubai-based Ed Jones taking his second podium of the weekend in third for Carlin.

Austrian Lucas Auer added a fourth place to his first race win for Mucke Motorsport, ahead of Brit Tom Blomqvist, the Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver having started eleventh on the grid due to a penalty for an engine change, but he charged through to finish fifth on the tail of Auer.

Nicholas Latifi was sixth for Prema Powerteam after a good tussle with Auer’s Mucke Motorsport team-mate Felix Rosenqvist and Team West-Tec F3’s Felix Serralles, while Jordan King and Jake Dennis (both Carlin) completed the top ten.

Pole sitter Max Verstappen retired before the race even began with gearbox issues, the Van Amersfoort Racing driver’s weekend going from bad to worse.

Also suffering a bad weekend is Antonio Fuoco, who also failed to see the chequered flag having also missed out on points in race one. The Italian spun on the opening lap and then retired with a suspension problem.

A safety car was needed towards the end of the race as Michele Beretta stopped on track in a dangerous position, which closed the field up. Beretta was one of a number of drivers to be given drive-through penalties for exceeding track limits, a list that included Hector Hurst, Alexander Toril and Riccardo Agostini.

Hockenheim Race 2 Result

1 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam 35m24.768s
2 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +0.969s
3 Ed Jones UAE Carlin +2.387s
4 Lucas Auer AUT Mucke Motorsport +2.836s
5 Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +3.227s
6 Nicholas Latifi CAN Prema Powerteam +4.346s
7 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mucke Motorsport +5.222s
8 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 +6.183s
9 Jordan King GBR Carlin +6.962s
10 Jake Dennis GBR Carlin +8.339s
11 Mitch Gilbert AUS Fortec Motorsport +8.961s
12 Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam +10.309s
13 John Bryant-Meisner SWE Fortec Motorsport +11.112s
14 Felipe Guimaraes BRZ Double R Racing +11.377s
15 Roy Nissany ISR Mucke Motorsport +12.148s
16 Jules Szymikowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing +12.266s
17 Sandro Zeller SWI Jo Zeller Racing +12.522s
18 Riccardo Agostini ITA EuroInternational +12.760s
19 Alexander Toril ESP ThreeBond with T-Sport +12.973s
20 Sean Galael BRZ Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +13.596s
21 Gustavo Menezes BRZ Van Amersfoort Racing +14.723s
22 Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing +14.903s
23 Hector Hurst GBR Team West-Tec F3 +16.410s
24 Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport +33.253s
RET Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational  
RET Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam 3 Laps
DNS Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing 0 Laps


Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World Challenge Europe Endurance CupPorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.

Leave a Reply