MotoGP 2014: Indianapolis Grand Prix – Power Five

5 Mins read

2. Mika Kallio (Moto2)

Moto2 is seen by many as the final proving ground for young riders on their way towards MotoGP but 31 year old Mika Kallio is showing the youngsters the way at the moment. After leading for much of the German GP only to be pipped by Dominique Aegerter, the Finn would make no mistake in Indianapolis as he romped to his third victory of the season.

It would be fair to say that championship leader Esteve Rabat’s form has dipped in recent races but the pressure being exerted on him by his teammate may well have something to do with it. Qualifying gave a graphic demonstration as Kallio dominated the session from start to finish while Rabat, in an effort to keep pace with his teammate, had two excursions with the second seeing him highside his Kalex in spectacular fashion.

The race itself looked to be following a similar pattern with Mika storming into a comfortable lead on the opening lap with Rabat stuck in a dog fight with Dominique Aegerter and Maverick Vinales but a red flag on lap four put Kallio’s lead under threat. Fans of his needn’t have worried though as the Finn aced the restart, opened up a one-second lead once again, and was never caught.

(Photo Credit:

5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
FIA WECFormula 1MotoGP

Eau Rouge Grandstand Opens at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps

2 Mins read
After two years of track renovations, the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps has opened its highly anticipated Eau Rogue / Raidillon grandstand.

Dani Pedrosa to make car racing debut in Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe

1 Mins read
MotoGP veteran Dani Pedrosa will race cars for the first time when he competes in Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe for FFF Racing Team alongside Antonin Borga.

Danilo Petrucci becomes first MotoGP rider to win Dakar Rally stage

2 Mins read
Danilo Petrucci won the fifth stage of the Dakar Rally following a penalty to two-time winner Toby Price, making him the first MotoGP alumnus to win a stage in the famed rally raid.