European Formula 3

Leclerc, Van Amersfoort Racing on top during Monza test day

1 Mins read

Monegasque driver Charles Leclerc was quickest overall on the test day at Monza ahead of this weekend’s fourth round of the FIA European Formula 3 Championship at the circuit.

The Van Amersfoort Racing driver set a best time of 1m44.040s during the morning session that ended up being the fastest time of the day, with the two-time race winning rookie 0.242s clear of a tightly bunched field.

Mücke Motorsport duo Mikkel Jensen and Santino Ferrucci were second and third fastest, with the American driver posting the fastest time during the afternoon session, closely followed by Leclerc.

South African racer Raoul Hyman was fourth quickest for Team West-Tec F3, with double winner at Pau Jake Dennis fifth in the leading Prema Powerteam entry.

Arjun Maini placed sixth fastest for Van Amersfoort Racing ahead of Felix Rosenqvist, while Pietro Fittipaldi, less than two weeks on from breaking a bone in his hand in a Pau crash, was eighth quickest for Fortec Motorsports.

Markus Pommer was ninth for Motopark, with Lance Stroll tenth in the third (of four) Prema Powerteam machines.

Julio Moreno was the busiest driver during the test day, with the Ecuadorian the only driver to break through 100 laps in his ThreeBond with T-Sport machine. Both Facu Regalia and Artur Janosz had their first outings with the EuroInternational squad, finishing 17th and 23rd respectively, with the top thirty drivers covered by less than 1.5 seconds.

Fortec Motorsports ran only two cars on the day for Fittipaldi and Matt Rao, with Hongwei Cao not getting out on track, while their fourth driver Zhi Cong Li continues to be absent from the entry list.

Monza Practice Day Times (Combined)

[table id=307 /]

13729 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World ChallengePorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.