Global Rallycross

Block takes record equalling win in Detroit

1 Mins read

Ken Block made it three wins out of five in 2015, taking advantage of Patrik Sandell’s misfortune to win the first race of the Red Bull Global Rallycross double header event in Detroit.

It could have been so different however, with Sandell – once again the fastest car in the field – looking set to claim his first win of the season, only for a mechanical failure to take him out of the final in the closing stages, handing the victory to Ken Block.

The weekend began with the M-Sport-built Fiesta drivers both winning their semi-finals. In the Last Chance Qualifier, Joni Wiman was victorious ahead of Brian Deegan, Austin Dyne and Steve Arpin with the non-starting Subaru pair of Bucky Lasek and Sverre Isachsen missing out on the final.

In the main event, Sandell battled with championship leader Block early on before driving off into a considerable lead.

The Swede’s poor fortune that has blighted his year so far was to continue as with three laps to go the Bryan Herta Rally Sport driver encountered a drivetrain issue, ending his race and allowing Block to take his third win of the season.

Scott Speed‘s 2015 demons appeared to have finally been banished as he took second place ahead of Sebastian Eriksson. Speed’s runner-up drive marked the first time the former F1 star had been on the podium since the season opener in Ft. Lauderdale.

Brian Deegan took fourth place in his second start of the season while 2014 champion Joni Wiman finished fifth, ahead of Austin Dyne, Steve Arpin and Nelson Piquet Jr.

Block’s win not only allowed him to extend his lead at the top of the Red Bull Global Rallycross points standings, but it also moved him in to equal first place on the all-time wins list, tied with Tanner Foust on six apiece.

Avatar photo
333 posts

About author
Dominik Wilde is a professional motorsport and motoring writer that has covered events in both the UK and USA. His main focus for the Checkered Flag is covering Americas Rallycross and Nitro Rallycross.
Related posts
Global RallycrossGRC LitesNASCAR Cup SeriesStadium SUPER TrucksX Games

Austin Cindric joins Robby Gordon as X Games medalists with NASCAR Cup wins

6 Mins read
What do Daytona 500 champ Austin Cindric and Robby Gordon have in common? They’re the only drivers with NASCAR Cup Series wins and X Games medals. Thanks to rallycross and Stadium Super Trucks, the NASCAR/X Games overlap is quite deep.
Global RallycrossNASCAR Truck SeriesNASCAR Xfinity SeriesStadium SUPER TrucksX Games

Xfinity, Truck Championship Rounds feature SST, X Games experience

6 Mins read
Of the 8 NASCAR Xfinity and Truck drivers fighting for championships this weekend, 3—Sheldon Creed, Zane Smith, and Brett Moffit—have driven a Stadium Super Truck. Creed and Xfinity regular season champ Austin Cindric have also won X Games off-road medals.
Americas Rallycross ChampionshipFMXGlobal RallycrossRallycross

More action sports stars have 'potential' to move into rallycross

3 Mins read
But spiralling costs could put a stop to any big moves