Giovinazzi leads the way in opening Macau practice

Antonio Giovinazzi led the way for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin in the opening free practice session for this weekend’s Macau Grand Prix.

The Italian racer, who finished second in the FIA European Formula 3 Championship standings in 2015, set a time of 2m13.829s as drivers up and down the 28-car strong paddock acclimatised themselves to the track, with Felix Rosenqvist, the driver to deny Giovinazzi the title, placing second.

Rosenqvist, the defending champion of the Macau Grand Prix after dominating the event in 2014, was more than seven-tenths of a second back in second place in his SJM Theodore Racing by Prema Powerteam entry.

Markus Pommer was third quickest for Motopark as European Formula 3 entries filled the top three in the session, but Japanese Formula 3 stars Kenta Yamashita and Yuhi Sekiguchi rounded out the top five for TOM’s and the B-Max Racing Team respectively.

Yu Kanamaru, a late addition to the race at the Carlin team in place of George Russell, was sixth fastest, ahead of the second TOM’s entry of Japanese Formula 3 champion Nick Cassidy, who in turn was just ahead of Ferrari Driver Academy driver Lance Stroll in the second of the three Prema machines.

Mitsunori Takaboshi was ninth for the B-Max Racing Team, while Alexander Albon completed the top ten for the French-based Signature team.

The session had to be red flagged twice due to crashes, with Jake Dennis of Prema Powerteam and Carlin’s Red Bull-backed Callum Ilott both hitting the barriers.

Double R Racing’s Alexander Sims and Jo Zeller Racing’s Zhi Cong Li both crashed at Lisboa, but both could be retrieved without the need of further red flags.

Macau Grand Prix Free Practice 1 Times

17Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin2m13.829s
21Felix RosenqvistSWESJM Theodore Racing by Prema Powerteam2m14.583s
319Markus PommerGERMotopark2m15.122s
45Kenta YamashitaJAPTOM's2m15.473s
512Yuhi SekiguchiJAPB-Max Racing Team2m15.643s
69Yu KanamaruJAPCarlin2m15.926s
76Nick CassidyNZLTOM's2m16.454s
83Lance StrollCANSJM Theodore Racing by Prema Powerteam2m16.492s
911Mitsunori TakaboshiJAPB-Max Racing Team2m16.606s
1017Alexander AlbonTHASignature2m16.682s
118Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin2m16.698s
1223Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports2m16.705s
1315Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing2m16.782s
1430Alexander SimsGBRDouble R Racing2m16.824s
1516Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing2m16.868s
1629Sam MacLeodGBRTeam West-Tec F32m16.947s
1725Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport2m18.003s
1827Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport2m18.225s
1910Callum IlottGBRCarlin2m18.976s
2024Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport2m19.607s
2128Ryan TveterUSATeam West-Tec F32m19.740s
2218Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature2m19.824s
232Jake DennisGBRSJM Theodore Racing by Prema Powerteam2m21.263s
2432Zhi Cong LiCHNJo Zeller Racing2m22.077s
2531Matt SolomanHKGDouble R Racing2m22.761s
2620Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark2m22.883s
2721Daniel JuncadellaESPFortec Motorsports2m26.721s
2822Wing Chung ChangMACFortec Motorsports2m33.663s