Pommer puts Motopark on top in second practice

2014 German Formula 3 Champion Markus Pommer was fastest in second practice in Macau on Friday, setting a time quicker than that was seen during the first qualifying session on Thursday.

The Motopark driver blitzed the Macau track in a time of 2m11.102s, which was more than seven-tenths of a second faster than Felix Rosenqvist’s qualifying time set yesterday, and puts the German driver in contention for pole position during qualifying later.

Rosenqvist also improved his time in his SJM Theodore Racing by Prema Powerteam entry, ending 0.321s adrift of Pommer, while Charles Leclerc placed third for Van Amersfoort Racing, a further 0.191s back on Rosenqvist.

Antonio Giovinazzi ended the session in fourth for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, with Lance Stroll making it five 2015 FIA European Formula 3 Championship race winners inside the top five in fifth for Prema Powerteam.

DTM Series racer Daniel Juncadella, a former winner of the Macau Grand Prix much like Rosenqvist, was sixth fastest for Fortec Motorsports, while Jake Dennis finally got to grips with the circuit to place seventh for Prema Powerteam after a trying day on Thursday fraught with problems.

Mücke Motorsport’s Mikkel Jensen, Team West-Tec F3’s Sam MacLeod and Carlin’s Callum Ilott completed the top ten, while the best Japanese Formula 3 representative during the session was New Zealander Nick Cassidy in twelfth for TOM’s.

There was one red flag during the session when Signature driver Dorian Boccolacci crashed at San Francisco Bend, while both Stroll and Hongwei Cao both tagged the wall but were able to return to the pits under their own power.

Macau Grand Prix Free Practice 2 Times

119Markus PommerGERMotopark2m11.102s
21Felix RosenqvistSWESJM Theodore Racing by Prema Powerteam2m11.423s
315Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing2m11.614s
47Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin2m11.924s
53Lance StrollCANSJM Theodore Racing by Prema Powerteam2m12.248s
621Daniel JuncadellaESPFortec Motorsports2m12.250s
72Jake DennisGBRSJM Theodore Racing by Prema Powerteam2m12.254s
825Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport2m12.308s
929Sam MacLeodGBRTeam West-Tec F32m12.381s
1010Callum IlottGBRCarlin2m12.678s
1117Alexander AlbonTHASignature2m12.764s
126Nick CassidyNZLTOM's2m12.790s
1328Ryan TveterUSATeam West-Tec F32m12.997s
1427Arjun MainiINDThreeBond with T-Sport2m13.084s
1516Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing2m13.112s
1624Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport2m13.171s
1730Alexander SimsGBRDouble R Racing2m13.447s
1812Yuhi SekiguchiJAPB-Max Racing Team2m13.776s
195Kenta YamashitaJAPTOM's2m13.797s
2011Mitsunori TakaboshiJAPB-Max Racing Team2m13.798s
2118Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature2m13.812s
2222Wing Chung ChangMACFortec Motorsports2m14.007s
238Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin2m14.023s
249Yu KanamaruJAPCarlin2m14.211s
2520Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark2m14.350s
2623Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports2m14.548s
2731Matt SolomanHKGDouble R Racing2m16.280s
2832Zhi Cong LiCHNJo Zeller Racing2m17.873s