Akhil Rabindra makes BRDC F4 return with Lanan

Akhil Rabindra returns to the BRDC Formula 4 championship with Lanan Racing in 2016 as he looks to improve upon his thirteenth place in the overall standings from last year. The Indian has already proved his consistency and managed five top ten positions last year.

Radindra beat former team mate Fernando Urrutia when they raced for Douglas Motorsport in 2015, as he hopes to continue his success into this season. Lanan meanwhile finished last season with all three of their drivers inside the top eight.

The 19 year old said: “Lanan Racing has been the most successful team in Formula 4 so I am really happy to be joining them. Last year gave me the experience of racing in the UK that I needed and I am looking forward to fighting at the front this year.”

Graham Johnson, Team Principal of Lanan Racing, added: “We saw how Akhil improved as last year progressed, so it’s great to have signed him for this season. His record is strong and we are looking forward to working with him to push him forward and on to race wins.”

While his team mates are yet to be announced, Rabindra won’t be the only Indian in the field as fellow countryman Ameya Vaidyanathan also returns to the series with the newly entered Carlin team.