Bourdais ahead of Hawksworth in opening Alabama practice

1 Mins read

Sebastien Bourdais set the pace in opening practice for this weekends fourth round of the Verizon IndyCar Series season at Barber Motorsports Park.

The Frenchman overcame early brake issues to lead the way for KVSH Racing, with his 1m07.3399s enough for him to outpace his rivals, with Jack Hawksworth once again putting in an impressive practice performance in second for AJ Foyt Enterprises, 0.1263s back on Bourdais.

Andretti Autosport, fresh off the back of a dreadful weekend at the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach, saw two of its drivers inside the top four, with Carlos Munoz finishing just ahead of team-mate Ryan Hunter-Reay, while the second Foyt entry of Takuma Sato was fifth.

James Hinchcliffe and Graham Rahal were next up for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports and Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing respectively, while championship leader and Long Beach race winner Simon Pagenaud was eighth for Team Penske.

Dale Coyne Racing’s Luca Filippi was ninth, while Scott Dixon completed the top ten for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Dixon’s Brazilian team-mate Tony Kanaan ended the session at the back, more than twenty seconds off the pace after engine issues on his car curtailed his session after just six slow laps.

Barber Motorsports Park Free Practice 1 Times

[table id=999 /]

13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
IndyCarNASCAR Cup SeriesOff Road

Parnelli Jones, 1933–2024

2 Mins read
Parnelli Jones, one of the most versatile racers of all time with victories at the Indianapolis 500, Baja 1000, NASCAR Cup Series, among others, died Tuesday after a battle with Parkinson’s.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Newgarden goes back-to-back in thrilling, rain-delayed Indy 500 win over O'Ward

4 Mins read
Josef Newgarden took the high line over Pato O’Ward on the lap 200 to go back-to-back at the Indy 500 for the first time since 2002.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Best Bets: Indy 500

1 Mins read
The Indy 500 returns to Indianapolis for the 108th time. Read here for some of the best bets for Sunday’s race.