Castroneves fastest again in night practice in Phoenix

Helio Castroneves continued Chevrolet’s domination at the Phoenix International Raceway as the pole sitter set the best time during night practice ahead of Saturday evening’s race at the one-mile oval.

Castroneves, who earlier had secured his fiftieth Verizon IndyCar Series pole position during qualifying, set a best time of 19.7495s as drivers got valuable track time running race-spec set-ups.

Juan Pablo Montoya made it a Team Penske 1-2 under the lights, with Josef Newgarden placing third for Ed Carpenter Racing ahead of the leading Chip Ganassi Racing entry of reigning series champion Scott Dixon, while Penske’s Simon Pagenaud completed the top five.

Front-row starter Tony Kanaan was sixth fastest for Ganassi ahead of Ed Carpenter, with Max Chilton, Will Power and Charlie Kimball completing the top ten.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was the leading Honda-powered driver in eleventh, with the Andretti Autosports driver just ahead of James Hinchcliffe of Sam Schmidt Motorsports, who got in some good running after missing qualifying due to his crash during opening practice.

Carlos Munoz, who crashed during qualifying, also returned to the track for Andretti Autosport and finished nineteenth fastest, but Takuma Sato again missed the session as his AJ Foyt Enterprises team continued to repair the #14 car after his morning crash. Sato will start the race on Saturday with just five laps of practice under his belt.

Phoenix International Raceway Free Practice 2 Result

13Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske19.7495s56
22Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske19.7526s48
321Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing19.8009s70
49Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing19.8067s59
522Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske19.8566s66
610Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing19.8711s46
720Ed CarpenterUSAEd Carpenter Racing19.9905s61
88Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing19.9934s59
912Will PowerAUSTeam Penske19.9987s63
1083Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing20.1170s64
1128Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport20.1994s44
125James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports20.2038s18
1315Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing20.2166s59
1411Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing20.2297s16
1527Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport20.2312s51
167Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports20.2415s53
1718Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing20.2855s43
1898Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Autosport20.3085s53
1926Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport20.4317s44
2019Luca FilippiITADale Coyne Racing20.4703s43
2141Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises20.5207s36
2214Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt EnterprisesNo Time0