Marco Andretti tops rain-affected IMS test day

by Paul Hensby

Marco Andretti dodged the showers to end fastest around the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Wednesday as Honda and Chevrolet tested superspeedway aerodynamic bodywork kits.

The American driver, who came close to winning the Indy 500 during his rookie season only to be denied on the run to the chequered flag by Sam Hornish Jr, set a best lap of 223.427mph for his Andretti Autosport team as fifteen drivers ran a combined 501 laps of the legendary oval.

Andretti set his best time during the morning session, while the afternoon was led by team-mate Ryan Hunter-Reay, with the former Indy 500 winner and series champion setting a best lap of 222.047mph.

The top two were both powered by Honda, with the best of the Chevrolet runners being current Verizon IndyCar Series championship leader Simon Pagenaud in third for Team Penske.

All cars were fitted with domed skid plates for the first time, with the feature mandated for all cars for superspeedways this season by IndyCar officialdom, with their introduction an attempt to reduce the chances of cars becoming airborne during crashes.

All four Team Penske drivers took to the track, as did three of the four Chip Ganassi Racing drivers, with only rookie Max Chilton absent from the line-up. The same can be said of Andretti Autosport, with Alexander Rossi not running any laps, allowing Andretti, Hunter-Reay and Carlos Munoz to do the test.

Ed Carpenter and Josef Newgarden tested for Ed Carpenter Racing, while there was one car running for each of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (Graham Rahal), Sam Schmidt Motorsports (James Hinchcliffe) and AJ Foyt Enterprises (Takuma Sato).

Indianapolis Motor Speedway Test Day Times

127Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport40.2816s223.427mph48
228Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport40.5319s222.047mph30
322Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske40.6701s221.293mph45
421Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing40.7012s221.124mph44
526Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport40.7558s220.827mph25
610Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing40.8527s220.304mph16
73Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske40.8812s220.150mph20
820Ed CarpenterUSAEd Carpenter Racing40.8891s220.108mph51
912Will PowerAUSTeam Penske40.8896s220.105mph33
109Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing40.9668s219.690mph30
112Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske41.0768s219.102mph40
1215Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing41.1676s218.619mph48
1383Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing41.3271s217.775mph12
145James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports41.7899s215.363mph46
1514Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises42.9601s209.497mph13

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More