Montoya leads Power in opening Long Beach practice

Juan Pablo Montoya was quickest in opening practice for this weekends Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach on Friday as Team Penske once again led the way.

The veteran Colombian set the best time of 1m08.1290s, almost a quarter of a second clear of team-mate Will Power, while the best non-Penske driver was Jack Hawksworth, who took his AJ Foyt Enterprises entry to an excellent third with a best lap of 1m08.4839s.

Josef Newgarden was fourth quickest for Ed Carpenter Racing, while Takuma Sato made it a good session for the Foyt team in fifth, ahead of James Hinchcliffe of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

Ryan Hunter-Reay, on double duty this weekend at Long Beach as he also races in the WeatherTech United Sports Car race alongside Marc Goossens with the VisitFlorida Racing Corvette DP team, was seventh quickest for Andretti Autosport, ahead of Penske’s Helio Castroneves, team-mate Carlos Munoz, and Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon.

Alexander Rossi caused a mid-session red flag when he crashed his Andretti Herta Autosports car at turn eight, resulting in the session being halted while his car was retrieved and the tyre barrier repaired.

The American driver ended the session at the back of the field in twenty-first, while Briton Max Chilton was nineteenth for Chip Ganassi Racing on his first visit to the Californian street track, just behind championship leader Simon Pagenaud, who could not match the times of his Penske team-mates during the session.

Long Beach Free Practice 1 Times

12Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske1m08.1290s14
212Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1m08.3714s18
341Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises1m08.4839s11
421Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing1m08.6050s18
514Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises1m08.7097s11
65James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1m08.7565s15
728Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1m08.7614s16
83Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1m08.8984s15
926Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport1m08.9080s17
109Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1m08.9511s13
1111Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing1m08.9621s16
1215Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1m08.9825s17
1383Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1m09.0566s17
1427Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1m09.2039s18
157Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1m09.2190s19
1610Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1m09.2330s14
1718Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing1m09.3633s20
1822Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1m09.4132s14
198Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1m09.5736s19
2019Luca FilippiITADale Coyne Racing1m09.6863s18
2198Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Autosport1m10.0221s8