Chaves sets the pace as Fast Friday looms

Gabby Chaves set the pace during Thursday’s fourth scheduled practice session at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway as drivers readied themselves for Fast Friday and the subsequent qualifying sessions across the weekend.

The Dale Coyne Racing driver set a best time of 39.4804s around the 2.5-mile oval, which equates to 227.961mph, to top the final day of practice ahead of qualifying that drivers do not have the additional engine boost that will come into play during Friday’s running and across the two qualifying days.

It was another clear, near perfect day on track, with 2563 laps being completed, with track activities been stopped only to clear up debris and to tow in cars that had stopped on track with mechanical issues, most notably Juan Pablo Montoya and Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Second and third place in the timing screens were drivers from the Andretti Autosport quintet, with Indy 500 one-off entry Townsend Bell second ahead of Carlos Munoz, while Conor Daly made it a good day for Dale Coyne Racing with the fourth fastest time as all 32 drivers who practiced on Thursday getting within one second of Chaves’ lap time.

Fifth fastest was Chip Ganassi Racing’s Charlie Kimball ahead of Team Penske’s Montoya, who despite requiring the tow-in after stopping on track was able to get back out for some running towards the end of the day.

Reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon was seventh for Chip Ganassi Racing ahead of Penske’s Helio Castroneves, with Marco Andretti ninth for Andretti Autosport.

In more good news for Dale Coyne Racing, Pippa Mann put herself into the top ten on Thursday, with a best lap of 39.7259s – 226.552s.

Spencer Pigot was the only driver who did not take to the track on Thursday, having been forced to sit out the track activities as his Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing team attempted to fix his car following his crash on Wednesday. The 2015 Indy Lights champion got into pit lane towards the end of the day but was unable to get onto the track before the chequered flag fell to end proceedings.

Indianapolis 500 Practice Day 4 Times

119Gabby ChavesCOLDale Coyne Racing39.4804s
229Townsend BellUSAAndretti Autosport39.5442s
326Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport39.5450s
418Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing39.5563s
542Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing39.5644s
62Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske39.5835s
79Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing39.6657s
83Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske39.6820s
927Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport39.6955s
1063Pippa MannGBRDale Coyne Racing39.7259s
1128Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport39.7360s
127Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports39.7616s
1335Alex TaglianiCANAJ Foyt Enterprises39.7752s
145James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports39.7786s
1598Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport39.7795s
1677Oriol ServiaESPSchmidt Peterson Motorsports39.7841s
1721Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing39.7976s
1811Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing39.8203s
1922Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske39.8259s
2010Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing39.8272s
2124Sage KaramUSADreyer & Reinbold Racing39.8366s
228Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing39.8969s
2312Will PowerAUSTeam Penske39.9227s
2415Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing39.9430s
2520Ed CarpenterUSAEd Carpenter Racing39.9463s
2614Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises39.9922s
276JR HildebrandUSAEd Carpenter Racing40.0225s
2841Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises40.0483s
2925Stefan WilsonGBRKV Racing Technology40.0616s
3061Matt BrabhamAUSKV Racing/Pirtek Team Murray40.1167s
3198Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport40.1391s
3288Bryan ClausonUSADale Coyne Racing/Jonathan Byrd's Racing40.2363s
334Buddy LazierUSALazier/Burns Racing40.4411s
3416Spencer PigotUSARahal Letterman Lanigan RacingNo Time