Dixon on top in second GP of Indy Practice

1 Mins read

Reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon led the way in second practice for the Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indy on Thursday.

The Chip Ganassi Racing driver set a best time of 1m09.8281s, with the top twenty-three drivers all within one second of Dixon’s time.

Five drivers dipped below the 1m10s barrier during the session, with behind Dixon, current championship leader Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske), Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing), Sebastien Bourdais (KVSH Racing) and opening practice pacesetter Will Power (Penske) all achieving this feat.

SMP Racing-backed Mikhail Aleshin was sixth fastest for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Josef Newgarden, while the second Schmidt entry of James Hinchcliffe was eighth having failed to set a time in the opening session due to an engine issue.

Juan Pablo Montoya ended the session in ninth for Penske, while Ryan Hunter-Reay completed the top ten for Andretti Autosport, ahead of Helio Castroneves (Penske) and the impressive Spencer Pigot (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing).

There were two red flags during the session, with Alexander Rossi (Andretti Herta Autosport) and Alex Tagliani (AJ Foyt Racing) both having off-track moments. For Tagliani in particular it was an interesting session, as he was later penalised for ignoring the chequered flag, and will be forced to sit out the opening five minutes of practice on Friday as a result.

Carlos Munoz, who finished tenth in the opening session for Andretti Autosport, had one slow lap of the road course at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway due to an issue on his #26 machine.

Grand Prix of Indy Free Practice 2 Times

[table id=1050 /]

13743 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Marco Andretti returns to the #98 for 2024 Indy 500

1 Mins read
IndyCar veteran Marco Andretti will attempt to qualify for the Indianapolis 500 this year the same way he has for the past three: as a one-off affair with Andretti Global’s (formerly Andretti Autosport) #98 car.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Gil de Ferran, 1967-2023

3 Mins read
Gil de Ferran, 2003 Indianapolis 500 winner and two-time CART series champion died on Friday at 56.

Ilott, Juncos part ways before the 2024 IndyCar season

1 Mins read
Callum Ilott and Juncos Hollinger Racing agreed to mutually part ways before the 2024 IndyCar season, per a team release.