Hunter-Reay sets the pace as Indy 500 practice resumes

Ryan Hunter-Reay set the quickest time around the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Wednesday after practice for the 100th running of the Indy 500 resumed after Tuesday’s track time was rained off.

Hunter-Reay’s time of 39.4388s, at an average speed of 228.202mph ensured that Andretti Autosport sat on top of the time sheets for the second time this week, having seen Marco Andretti lead the way on Mondays opening day.

Carlos Munoz made it an Andretti Autosport 1-2, just a fraction shy of Hunter-Reay’s time, while Will Power completed the top three with a lap of his own of 227.733mph for Team Penske.

Josef Newgarden was fourth fastest for Ed Carpenter Racing, with Gabby Chaves an impressive fifth for Dale Coyne Racing ahead of the leading Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Charlie Kimball.

Andretti Autosport’s Townsend Bell was seventh ahead of Dreyer & Reinbold Racing’s Sage Karam, with Marco Andretti ninth ahead of Graham Rahal of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

A total of 2779 laps were completed on Wednesday of the famed 2.5-mile oval, with all 33 confirmed entrants getting time on track. The top twelve drivers all topped 226mph, while the top 31 cars were all within one second of the fastest time.

There were a few stoppages during the day, the most notable being a crash for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing rookie Spencer Pigot, who crashed at turn one but was unhurt and medically cleared to return to the track once his car is repaired.

Mikhail Aleshin (Schmidt Peterson Motorsport) and Matt Brabham (KV Racing/Pirtek Team Murray) also caused stoppages after pulling off the track with mechanical issues, while the rest of the caution periods were due to track inspections for debris.

Indianapolis 500 Practice Day 3 Times

128Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport39.4388s
226Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport39.4623s
312Will PowerAUSTeam Penske39.5200s
421Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing39.6479s
519Gabby ChavesCOLDale Coyne Racing39.6669s
642Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing39.6878s
729Townsend BellUSAAndretti Autosport39.6904s
824Sage KaramUSADreyer & Reinbold Racing39.7494s
927Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport39.7654s
1015Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing39.7801s
1111Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing39.7831s
1222Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske39.8038s
132Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske39.8400s
146JR HildebrandUSAEd Carpenter Racing39.9089s
1598Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport39.9226s
168Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing39.9353s
179Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing39.9495s
183Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske39.9603s
1910Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing39.9656s
207Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports40.0002s
2135Alex TaglianiCANAJ Foyt Enterprises40.0302s
2214Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises40.0542s
2363Pippa MannGBRDale Coyne Racing40.1444s
2418Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing40.1844s
2516Spencer PigotUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing40.2384s
2688Bryan ClausonUSADale Coyne Racing/Jonathan Byrd's Racing40.2895s
2761Matt BrabhamAUSKV Racing/Pirtek Team Murray40.3034s
285James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports40.3337s
2920Ed CarpenterUSAEd Carpenter Racing40.3368s
3025Stefan WilsonGBRKV Racing Technology40.3985s
317James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports40.4097s
3277Oriol ServiaESPSchmidt Peterson Motorsports40.4726s
334Buddy LazierUSALazier/Burns Racing40.8898s
3441Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises41.3244s