Pagenaud secures GP of Indy pole; Kimball on front row

Simon Pagenaud’s strong start to the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series season continued as the Frenchman took pole position for Saturday’s Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indy.

The Team Penske driver capitalised on the issues of others, most notably team-mates Will Power and Juan Pablo Montoya, who were both eliminated from qualifying at the second stage due to traffic, as was Scott Dixon, and Pagenaud’s pole ensures Penske’s 100% pole record in 2016 continues.

With some of the big gun’s eliminated early, it will be Chip Ganassi Racing’s Charlie Kimball who will line-up alongside Pagenaud on the front row, the American’s best qualifying performance so far in his IndyCar career.

Row two will see Graham Rahal alongside James Hinchcliffe, with the Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing driver getting the better of the Schmidt Peterson Motorsports driver by 0.0444s.

The final two drivers who made it through to the Fast Six shootout were Josef Newgarden of Ed Carpenter Racing and Jack Hawksworth, who will start the Grand Prix of Indy from the sixth place on the grid for AJ Foyt Racing.

Just missing out on that Fast Six shootout was Tony Kanaan of Chip Ganassi Racing, who will start seventh alongside Montoya, while Dixon was also a notable absentee from the shootout, ultimately qualifying in ninth for Ganassi, and will start alongside KVSH Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais.

Mikhail Aleshin will start eleventh for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, while Power will start twelfth, despite breaking the Indy road course lap record during the first part of the qualifying session, but was heavily compromised in the second session.

Grand Prix of Indy Qualifying Times

122Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1m08.6868s
283Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1m08.9816s
315Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1m09.1816s
45James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1m09.2260s
521Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing1m09.4316s
641Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises1m09.5141s
- - Eliminated in Q2- - -
710Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1m09.2511s
82Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske1m09.2645s
99Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1m09.4010s
1011Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing1m09.4436s
117Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1m09.6771s
1212Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1m09.9297s
- - Eliminated in Q1- - -
138Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1m09.3289s
1498Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport1m09.1475s
153Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1m09.4947s
1661Matt BrabhamAUSKV Racing/Pirtek Team Murray1m09.2944s
1728Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1m09.5276s
186JR HildebrandUSAEd Carpenter Racing1m09.4377s
1926Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport1m09.6457s
2016Spencer PigotUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1m09.4591s
2127Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1m09.7478s
2214Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises1m09.4659s
2335Alex TaglianiCANAJ Foyt Enterprises1m10.4109s
2418Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing1m09.4795s
2519Gabby ChavesCOLDale Coyne Racing1m09.7720s