Qualifying order set for 100th Indy 500

1 Mins read

The order has been drawn for Saturday’s opening qualifying session at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with 2013 Indy 500 winner Tony Kanaan set to take to the track first for his four-lap qualifying run.

All thirty-three drivers will take to the track in order to make the grid, with the primary aim for all to make it into the top nine, which will enable those to participate in the pole position shootout on Sunday afternoon.

Set to follow Kanaan onto the track will be current Verizon IndyCar Series championship leader Simon Pagenaud, with Marco Andretti third in line for Andretti Autosport ahead of the first rookie in line, Alexander Rossi.

There are big names up and down the list, with Fast Friday pacesetter Will Power set to take to the track tenth in line, just before Team Penske team-mate Helio Castroneves, while the fourth Penske of 2015 Indy 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya twenty-sixth in line.

The final three scheduled qualifiers are scheduled to be two-times pole sitter Ed Carpenter, Conor Daly and Graham Rahal.

If practice is anything to go by, and with the extra boost available to all Honda and Chevrolet drivers, speeds could exceed those seen so far this week at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway as drivers look to lock themselves into the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500.

Indianapolis 500 Saturday Qualifying Order

[table id=1103 /]

Related posts

Will Power Shows St. Petersburg Mastery With Another Pole in Controversial Qualifying

2 Mins read
Will Power continues his pole prowess at St. Pete, claiming his ninth on the streets of St. Petersburg.

Herta Fastest in Practice at St. Pete

2 Mins read
Colton Herta goes fastest in practice for the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

Penske Pulls Plug on Supercar Program, McLaughlin to Move to IndyCar Full-Time for 2021

2 Mins read
Team Penske has announced that Scott McLaughlin will join the team full-time for the 2021 NTT IndyCar Series season.

Leave a Reply