Kanaan heads Ganassi 1-2 in final Road America practice

Tony Kanaan - Credit: Chris Jones / IndyCar

Tony Kanaan led a Chip Ganassi Racing 1-2 in final practice at Road America on Saturday ahead of team-mate Scott Dixon.

Kanaan set a late quick lap of 1:42.6580 to pace the session, only 0.0113 seconds ahead of Dixon as the Ganassi team showed good pace during the session, confirmed by the sight of Max Chilton finishing up in fourth.

Will Power denied the Ganassi stable a clean sweep of the top three, with the Australian placing his Team Penske entry into the third position, while his team-mate and the current Verizon IndyCar Series championship leader Simon Pagenaud was fifth.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was the best placed of the Andretti Autosport drivers and the quickest Honda representatives in sixth, with the top five ahead of them all powered by Chevrolet.

Sebastien Bourdais, the winner of the last top level open wheel race at Road America back in 2007, was seventh for KVSH Racing, just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Takuma Sato, while Alexander Rossi and Helio Castroneves completed the top ten.

The three Colombian drivers in the field propped up the session, with Gabby Chaves of Dale Coyne Racing twentieth ahead of Team Penske’s Juan Pablo Montoya, while Carlos Munoz suffered an engine issue without completing a representative lap time for Andretti Autosport.

Road America Free Practice 3 Times

110Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1:42.6580
29Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1:42.6693
312Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1:42.8490
48Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1:43.0450
522Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1:43.0973
628Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1:43.1284
711Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing1:43.1868
814Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises1:43.2380
998Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport1:43.2770
103Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1:43.3107
1118Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing1:43.3502
1215Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1:43.4181
1321Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:43.4366
1420Spencer PigotUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:43.4454
155James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:43.4580
167Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:43.7530
1741Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises1:43.8337
1827Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1:43.8604
1983Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1:44.1460
2019Gabby ChavesCOLDale Coyne Racing1:44.2232
212Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske1:44.4451
2226Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport1:47.6205