Newgarden sets the pace in second Detroit practice

Josef Newgarden - Credit: Chris Jones / IndyCar

A blistering lap time from Josef Newgarden saw the Ed Carpenter Racing driver end the second free practice session of the Belle Isle weekend at the top of the time sheets.

The young American charger set a time of 1:14.6464 during Saturday morning’s pre-race session, 0.1855 seconds faster than second placed Scott Dixon of Chip Ganassi Racing.

Newgarden will start the race down in fourteenth after a difficult qualifying session on Friday, but will be buoyed by the result of the free practice session as the first race of the double-header weekend beckons later in the day.

Behind Dixon in second was Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay, who after a heated discussion with team-mate Marco Andretti after yesterday’s qualifying when the latter claimed the former cost him time. Hunter-Reay in fact had been delayed by Sebastien Bourdais before delaying his team-mate, but the two drivers put their spat behind them to both finish in the top six in practice.

Race one pole sitter Simon Pagenaud was the only other driver to break through the 1:14 second barrier, with the Team Penske driver setting a time of 1:14.9979, with team-mate Juan Pablo Montoya in fifth ahead of Andretti.

Conor Daly was an impressive seventh for Dale Coyne Racing ahead of KVSH Racing’s Bourdais, while the top ten was completed by front row starter Helio Castroneves and by Graham Rahal of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

Belle Isle Free Practice 2 Result

121Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:14.6464
29Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1:14.8319
328Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1:14.9739
422Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1:14.9979
52Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske1:15.2330
627Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1:15.3196
718Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing1:15.4205
811Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing1:15.4551
93Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1:15.5552
1015Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1:15.7407
1112Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1:15.7503
1226Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport1:15.8747
135James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:15.8925
1419Gabby ChavesCOLDale Coyne Racing1:15.9126
1520Spencer PigotUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:15.9402
1614Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises1:16.0275
1798Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport1:16.0940
1883Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1:16.1888
1941Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises1:16.6627
2010Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1:16.6988
217Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:16.7108
228Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1:17.0291