Rahal on top in second Road America practice

1 Mins read
Graham Rahal - Credit: Joe Skibinski / IndyCar

After suffering with electrical issues during the opening session, Graham Rahal bounced back well to set the pace in the second free practice session at Road America on Friday.

The Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing driver set a best time of 1:43.0024 to take top spot ahead of Team Penske’s Will Power by 0.1384 seconds, with the two at the front well clear of the tightly packed following pack.

Whereas almost seven-tenths of a second separated Rahal from third placed Tony Kanaan of Chip Ganassi Racing, a further four-tenths of a second separated the Brazilian from nineteenth placed Mikhail Aleshin.

Juan Pablo Montoya was fourth fastest for Team Penske, just 0.0396 seconds back on Kanaan, with Carlos Munoz again the best placed of the Andretti Autosport drivers in fifth.

Max Chilton was a strong sixth for Chip Ganassi Racing and the best placed of the four rookie drivers in the field, having temporarily held top spot until Rahal got going, while Helio Castroneves made it three Penske drivers inside the top seven.

Scott Dixon was eighth for Chip Ganassi Racing ahead of Ryan Hunter-Reay of Andretti Autosport, while Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi completed the top ten for Andretti Herta Autosport.

The session came to a premature end when red flags flew due to Jack Hawksworth stopped his AJ Foyt Racing machine on track at turn four with little over ninety seconds remaining on the clock.

Road America Free Practice 2 Times

[table id=1197 /]

Related posts

Tony Kannan Joins Ganassi for #48 Car Oval Program

2 Mins read
After what was believed to be his final season, Tony Kannan returns to IndyCar with Chip Ganassi Racing and the new #48 team.

Season Review: 2020 NTT IndyCar Series - Dixon Makes History with Title Number Six

12 Mins read
Scott Dixon won his sixth championship this year, but how did he reach this legendary milestone? Let’s recap the 2020 NTT IndyCar Series season.

Castroneves Joins Meyer Shank Racing for IndyCar Return

2 Mins read
Helio Castroneves will join Meyer Shank Racing in 2021 as the team expands to a second car.

Leave a Reply