500-up for Penske as Pagenaud takes Iowa pole

Simon Pagenaud - Credit: Chris Jones / IndyCar

Simon Pagenaud secured Team Penske’s 500th pole position in their history as he took top spot for this weekend’s Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway.

Pagenaud’s two-lap time of 34.6334 seconds was enough for the Team Penske driver to take his fifth pole of the season, denying Josef Newgarden by just 0.0404 seconds.

Helio Castroneves made it two Penske drivers inside the top three with a time of 34.7122 seconds, while Max Chilton was the best placed of the Chip Ganassi Racing drivers in fourth, just 0.0026 seconds behind the Brazilian.

Charlie Kimball and practice pacesetter Tony Kanaan will share row three, also of Chip Ganassi Racing, while row four sees Ed Carpenter alongside Team Penske’s Will Power.

Mikhail Aleshin continued his strong oval form in 2016 by taking ninth for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, and was the only Honda representative inside the top ten, while the top ten was completed by Scott Dixon, who was the slowest of the four Chip Ganassi Racing drivers on the day.

Juan Pablo Montoya was eleventh for Penske ahead of Graham Rahal of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, while Takuma Sato and Jack Hawksworth will share row seven for AJ Foyt Racing.

Carlos Munoz was the best placed of the Andretti Autosport quartet in fifteenth, with Alexander Rossi seventeenth behind Sebastien Bourdais, Marco Andretti nineteenth behind Gabby Chaves, and Ryan Hunter-Reay twentieth, ahead only of Conor Daly and James Hinchcliffe.

Iowa Speedway Qualifying Result

122Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske34.6334
221Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing34.6738
33Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske34.7122
48Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing34.7148
583Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing34.8899
610Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing34.9011
720Ed CarpenterUSAEd Carpenter Racing34.9182
812Will PowerAUSTeam Penske34.9856
97Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports35.2211
109Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing35.2417
112Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske35.2430
1215Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing35.3180
1314Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises35.3769
1441Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises35.4255
1526Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport35.5493
1611Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing35.5771
1798Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Autosport35.5782
1819Gabby ChavesCOLDale Coyne Racing35.6827
1927Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport35.7033
2028Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport35.7792
2118Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing36.0311
225James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports36.7760