Bourdais leads the way in opening Toronto practice

1 Mins read
Sebastien Bourdais - Credit: Chris Jones / IndyCar

Sebastien Bourdais set the pace in the opening practice session of the weekend around the streets of Toronto, the Verizon IndyCar Series’ annual visit north of the border into Canada.

The Frenchman took his KVSH Racing Dallara-Chevrolet around the 1.786-mile temporary street circuit in a time of 1:02.9290, as drivers up and down the field struggled with low grip levels.

Bourdais ended the session 0.0448 seconds ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon, with the reigning series champion the only other driver to dip below the 1:03 mark, while current championship leader Simon Pagenaud was third in the best of the Team Penske entries.

Takuma Sato was the best placed of the Honda-powered drivers in fourth for AJ Foyt Racing, ahead of Graham Rahal of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, while Will Power was the second of the Penske drivers in sixth ahead of Tony Kanaan of Ganassi.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was the only Andretti Autosport driver inside the top ten in eighth, with Penske’s Helio Castroneves and Schmidt Peterson Motorsport’s Mikhail Aleshin completing the top ten.

The circuit layout has seen minor changes in 2016, with the pit lane switching from the south side of the start and finish straight to the north side, with the circuit length increasing slightly as a result, with the final few corners of the Toronto track being slightly tighter than before.

Toronto Free Practice 1 Result

[table id=1270 /]

Related posts

Tony Kannan Joins Ganassi for #48 Car Oval Program

2 Mins read
After what was believed to be his final season, Tony Kannan returns to IndyCar with Chip Ganassi Racing and the new #48 team.

Season Review: 2020 NTT IndyCar Series - Dixon Makes History with Title Number Six

12 Mins read
Scott Dixon won his sixth championship this year, but how did he reach this legendary milestone? Let’s recap the 2020 NTT IndyCar Series season.

Castroneves Joins Meyer Shank Racing for IndyCar Return

2 Mins read
Helio Castroneves will join Meyer Shank Racing in 2021 as the team expands to a second car.

Leave a Reply