Dixon leads Pagenaud in final Mid-Ohio practice

Scott Dixon - Credit: Joe Skibinski / IndyCar

Scott Dixon was fastest in final practice around the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on Saturday morning as Chevrolet-power once again dominated.

The top six in the session were all powered by Chevrolet, with multiple series champion Dixon setting a best time of 1:03.7244 for Chip Ganassi Racing, 0.1694 seconds faster than current championship leader Simon Pagenaud, who was just ahead of his main title rival and Team Penske team-mate Will Power.

Josef Newgarden was fourth fastest for Ed Carpenter Racing ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing duo Tony Kanaan and Max Chilton.

Graham Rahal was the best placed of the Honda-powered racers, with the Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing driver finishing seventh, 0.3520 seconds down on the pace, while Charlie Kimball made it all four of the Ganassi entries inside the top eight.

James Hinchcliffe ended the session ninth for Schmidt Peterson Motorsport, while Ryan Hunter-Reay was the only Andretti Autosport driver to make it inside the top sixteen runners, with the former series champion ending tenth fastest.

There were two red flag periods during the session, the first of which was caused by Spencer Pigot spinning backwards into the turn four gravel, while Conor Daly ended the session early after also having an off.

Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course Free Practice 3 Result

19Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1:03.7244
222Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1:03.8938
312Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1:03.9050
421Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:03.9116
510Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1:03.9560
68Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1:04.0394
715Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1:04.0764
883Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1:04.0889
95James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:04.0954
1028Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1:04.1421
1111Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing1:04.1694
122Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske1:04.2734
137Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:04.3370
143Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1:04.3545
1519RC EnersonUSADale Coyne Racing1:04.3887
1620Spencer PigotUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:04.4347
1798Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport1:04.6115
1826Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport1:04.6266
1918Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing1:04.6309
2041Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises1:04.6702
2114Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises1:04.7373
2227Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1:04.7668