Pagenaud leads Penske 1-2-3 in disrupted second Toronto practice

Simon Pagenaud - Credit: Shawn Gritzmacher / IndyCar

Simon Pagenaud was fastest in a disrupted second practice around the streets of Toronto as both Juan Pablo Montoya and Charlie Kimball crashed and other drivers had issues on Friday.

Championship leader Pagenaud set a best time of 1:01.7081 to lead a Team Penske 1-2-3 ahead of team-mates Helio Castroneves and Will Power, but the fourth Penske driver Montoya clipped the inside wall at turn eleven that shot him across the road into the outside wall that left him with a heavily damaged car.

When the session resumed, opening practice pacesetter Sebastien Bourdais spun his KVSH Racing machine at turn one but avoided the wall, while Schmidt Peterson MotorsportsMikhail Aleshin also got away with a moment at the exit of the same turn. Both drivers were able to return to the pits and resume their sessions.

The same could not be said for Charlie Kimball, who clipped the outside wall on the exit of turn eleven where Montoya crashed and spun into the inside wall, damaging his Chip Ganassi Racing car and causing another red flag.

Scott Dixon ended the session in fourth for Ganassi ahead of Schmidt’s James Hinchcliffe, with Bourdais, Tony Kanaan, Graham Rahal, Carlos Munoz and Jack Hawksworth completing the top ten.

The top fourteen drivers were covered by less than one second, including both Dale Coyne Racing drivers of Conor Daly and Luca Filippi, the latter making his series return with the team this weekend in place of Gabby Chaves.

Toronto Free Practice 2 Result

122Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1:01.7081
23Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1:01.9091
312Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1:02.0573
49Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1:02.0702
55James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:02.1867
611Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing1:02.2688
710Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1:02.4089
815Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1:02.5353
926Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport1:02.5644
1041Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises1:02.5737
1118Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing1:02.5941
1219Luca FilippiITADale Coyne Racing1:02.6316
137Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1:02.6449
1414Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises1:02.6863
1527Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1:02.7384
1621Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:02.7942
172Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske1:02.8459
1820Spencer PigotUSAEd Carpenter Racing1:02.8546
1928Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1:02.9515
2098Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport1:03.0112
2183Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1:03.2453
228Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1:03.2645